Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This recipe is so close to mine that I wanted to review it and give a few tips that I use when making my cabbage rolls. First, not only should you drain the sauerkraut, but you should also rinse it thoroughly and squeeze the excess water out. This removes the brine that seems to give sauerkraut it's bad rep. A good old world recipe boils the cabbage head and the shortcut of freezing the head overnight leaves the cabbage leaves rubbery. It's an old world recipe and shortcuts like this are not good unless you just hate cabbage and throw the leaves out anyway. There is a large hard vein that runs down the center of the cabbage leaves near where it comes off the core. This can be cut out so your cabbage leaf is tender. That hard vein cannot be tenderized so get it our of there. Use smoked bacon-as it cooks, it helps to further tenderize those cabbage leaves as the fat renders down on top of rolls, plus it adds a smoky flavor to the sauerkraut. Last of all, (no offense to anyone) the flavor of pork mixed with beef cannot be replaced by ground turkey. It does change the flavor and taste of this old world recipe and the fat content of the pork helps to tenderize the cabbage covering the rolls. I suggest you try the recipe as directed to try it old world then review it. (Most people don't go through the trouble of making cabbage rolls very often so live a little here. If you plan to fix this frequently, then add your ground turkey and make it more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
FANTASTIC!!! I am a huge fan of stuffed cabbage to begin with, but this recipe improved upon my already good stuffed cabbage recipe. I loved the ground pork with the ground beef. The sauerkraut was a great addition to the cabbage. I may try adding an additional can of soup next time to thicken up the sauce so it is more like gravy. Be prepared! This makes a lot of food. (Good for leftovers.) I didn't have a big roasting pan so I had to split this up amongst two 9 x 13 size pans. I am going out to buy the right size pan for the next time I make this. Thanks for the recipe. My whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
I've been making stuffed cabbage for quite a few years but wanted to find something just a little different; and this was! We absolutely loved it! My husband loves sauerkraut, my kids hate it and truthfully, coming from a german family and eating is constantly while growing up I didn't care if I ever had it again. Needless to say, my husband thought this was terrific, my kids didn't even realize they were eating sauerkraut and I thought the kraut, coupled with the bacon added a very wonderful flavor. I'll make stuffed cabbage this way from now on. Thanks!! UPDATE! Since my recent move to Kentucky, I found out that the love of my life hadn't had a cabbage roll since he was just a kid. With that I just knew I had to make this particular for him. Kelly, I wish I could tell you how much he loved this! He actually said this was the most delectable dish he's had in a very long time! Nice compliment for both of us! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is very similar to a recipe I copied from the Chicago Tribune many years ago. It was the authentic stuffed cabbage a downtown Polish church made once a year to rave reviews. It adds 1-2tsp. of marjoram (wonderful), 2 garlic cloves instead of the garlic salt and a teaspoon of caraway seeds on top of the rolls before the sauerkraut. I think I just use 28oz of pureed canned tomatoes. I also put extra cabbage leaves on the top to protect the sauce and then discard them. Best thing, it improves with age. Just gets better and better!!! Fry up a little bit of the meat mixture and see if it is to your liking. You can then adjust seasonings to suit yourself.God Bless Grandmothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Wow...this was very good, especially considering the comedy of errors that occurred the first time I made it. I make a few modifications based on advice from other reviews: I half the recipe, and it fits perfectly in a 9x13 baking dish. I use ground turkey instead of pork. I steam the cabbage in my steamer instead of boiling it (didn't have a pot big enough.) I use a whole cabbage on a half recipe - perhaps I roll them smaller than others do. I use pasta sauce in place of the soup (because somehow between the store and my house, the can of tomato soup escaped the first time I made this, and it was great with tomato sauce.) I use white rice instead of brown, and always increase the amount of rice because the first version I made was a little meatier/heavier than I wanted. I don't add any water at all, and couldn't imagine needing more. There is plenty of liquid and the rolls are always very tender. Labor-intensive but very, very worth it!! It's great leftover too - heats up well in the microwave. Boyfriend just commented - "I will eat that stuffed cabbage until I bust."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
My grandmother was Slovak and made stuffed cabbage often when I was a child. When she passed away, I thought the recipe lost forever, until I discovered my mother could duplicate it with ease-must come from years of practice at Grandmother's side. However, since my mother didn't write most of her best recipes down, when she died I again thought the recipe lost forever. This recipe is the closest thing to my grandmother's, and it brings back wonderful memories just making it. And Jason can't get enough of it. Thanks for a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I made them in the crockpot (remember to cut the liquid down) and they were GREAT! I will definitely be making these again! Thanks for the recipe. mel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELBABY33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I gave this recipe a try because of all the positive reviews. It was excellent! Like my grandmother's stuffed cabbage, but even better! I substituted extra ground beef for the pork and used white rice instead of brown because that's what I had on hand, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is a ton of work, but gets rave reviews. Allow yourself at least three hours total time. A couple of suggestions: * Salt the cooking water for cooking the cabbage * Rinse the cabbage after boiling with cool water to make it easier to handle * Double the rice and the parsley * Saute the onions before adding * Substitute 6 cloves of fresh garlic for garlic salt, and saute the garlic with the onions * Add 2 tbs. of Hungarian paprika to the meat mixture * Substitute marinara sauce for the tomato soup * Substitute brown sugar for white sugar * Cook the bacon and crumble before adding * Rinse the sauerkraut and squeeze out any excess liquid before adding That's my two cents. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I've been looking for a great stuffed cabbage recipe and now I've finally found it!! This is wonderful!! I used kielbasa instead of bacon and it worked great!! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States