Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Awesome recipe-- I hadn't ever had halupki made with sauerkraut, and it was good. Thanks for the recipe Also- I just used tomato sauce and crushed tomatoes, didnt have ground pork, nor parsley. It came out good, and was even better the next day. I also wished I had more cabbage leaves, as I ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Fabulous... I've made this one over and over and get rave reviews every time. Great meal to make to feed a crowd for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Winland Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These are simply the best! I'm pregnant and got a craving for cabbage rolls, which I hadn't had since I was a young child. Because I like to use organic products where I can, I made a few changes to the recipe. My store doesn't carry an organic condensed tomato soup, or even a plain organic tomato soup, so I used an organic cream of tomato and reduced the water. I didn't have garlic salt, so I used fresh garlic and salt to taste. For more flavor, I also increased the amount of parsley. I ran out of cabbage leaves had extra meat mixture, so I crumbled it over top, before adding the other toppings. These were a huge hit with our family and also our last minute dinner guests. This is a new favorite recipe that I plan to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I tried this recipe as a change from the regular way I made stuffed cabbage (polish piggies) I thought this recipe was great, my family loved it, it was even better the next day. Thank you Brenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Excellent, adaptable recipe. Made 1/2 batch in 4 qt. slow-cooker - 8 hours on low. Layered 6 rolls and 1/2 the ingredients twice. Important - to maximize the flavor throughout, make sure all of the rolls are covered with liquid. Will try some thin-sliced kielbasa on each layer next time - not sure about the bacon's contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is very similar to a recipe I copied from the Chicago Tribune many years ago. It was the authentic stuffed cabbage a downtown Polish church made once a year to rave reviews. It adds 1-2tsp. of marjoram (wonderful), 2 garlic cloves instead of the garlic salt and a teaspoon of caraway seeds on top of the rolls before the sauerkraut. I think I just use 28oz of pureed canned tomatoes. I also put extra cabbage leaves on the top to protect the sauce and then discard them. Best thing, it improves with age. Just gets better and better!!! Fry up a little bit of the meat mixture and see if it is to your liking. You can then adjust seasonings to suit yourself.God Bless Grandmothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is simply the best stuffed cabbage I have ever had. I made this taking a big risk because I have 4 young kids and I know they're not huge fans of cabbage but I myself love it and wanted to try making this recipe myself. Anyways it was a huge hit they gobbled it down. I found this recipe to be fairly simple. Instead of boiling a full head of cabbage all together I seperated each leaf carefully and put in boiling water and they were done fast. I also fried the bacon up first and then sauted onions and garlic in the bacon fat and then drained before adding to the meat mix, I did also add a little worcestershire sauce for my own personal taste, and I didn't need to add the water. There was plenty of liquid before and after cooking. Also used white rice as I didn't have any brown. I was a little worried if I should cover this while baking in the oven but since it didn't mention in the directions I didn't and it cooked well. Love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
How does one make the best better? Try using ground veal instead of beef -- or in addition to beef. My kids won't eat the cabbage or the sauerkraut, so I make them "porcupine patties" with the meat mixture on the bottom layer. I can imagine what they tell their classmates at school about what I serve...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I love this recipe! My grandmother was German and she always used sauerkraut in hers. I use white rice like she did and tomato juice and it's great I don't use the parsley or the bacon but the little bit of sugar cuts the acid from the tomato. I use a small knife to shave down the cabbage rib and thin it so it's easy to roll without losing any of the leaf as it seems harder to find big cabbage heads lately. I'm going to try freezing the head one of these days to see if it works as good as boiling. Cabbage rolls can be done in the crock pot or simmered in a big pot on the stove (with enough liquid) as I do as everyone likes the juice. I just layer the sauerkraut leftover cut up cabbage and rolls in a big stock pot and depending on if you double or triple the recipe 1 or 2 big cans of tomato juice. I just simmer it for hours till tender as I usually have to increase the recipe by three or four once I make the mistake of mentioning I'm making it. I hate to see people beg...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was the best stuffed cabbage I've ever had. Even better than my grandmother's! I've never had it with sauerkraut and bacon before but from now on this is how I'm going to make it. There are only two of us but I made the whole recipe anyhow and froze the extras for another day. I followed the recipe exactly except for one thing; I didn't use all three cups of water. I used about half that amout instead. I haven't had these for a couple of years and the smell they made when cooking brought back so many memories. Thank you so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States