Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I decided to make stuffed cabbage and out of curiosity looked up how other people make it. I discovered this recipe and it is similar to the recipe that I make handed down from my slovak/"ruthenian" grandmother (Helen). The only difference is, the diced tomatos are substitued by tomato sauce, and bacon with kielbasa. I've' tried bacon and diced tomatos,(out of necessity) but prefer my grandmother's way. I like to cook this in oven at 350 and cover for the first hour then uncover the last 1/2 hour. So, I guess I'm stickin with my original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Good recipe! I had a similar recipe and couldn't find it. This one is almost exact,except you line your pan with 1/2 sauerkraut and place the "rolls" on top, and place remaining "kraut" on top of rolls, then cover with tomato sauce/soup and add bacon on top. I make this dish for family reunions,work parties etc, and am always asked for the recipe! And my family makes sure I am bringing this for gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Just like Granny used to make! I loved this recipe. I used sliced kielbasi instead of bacon because that's the way my Grandma always did it. I'm not very good at rolling the cabbage though. I had a ton of leftover meat and ended up making meatballs out of it and made extra sauce to cover and bake them in the oven. My boys love the meat more than the cabbage anyway, so it worked out perfect for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chazlyn
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURIE
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was really yummy! I followed the recipes exactly except I didn't cook the rice prior to adding it. I think next time I will try to make this a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I never made stuffed cabbage before, this recipe was my first try and it was easy and delicious. I omitted the sugar and the bacon-and didn't miss them. My husband said they tasted like his grandmother's stuffed cabbage! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I have given this recipe a 5 already, they are cooking in my crockpots and I haven't tasted them yet but already know they are going to be delicious. I have been making a similar recipe for years, but this one sounded so good I just had to give it a try. I will be back later to tell everyone if it meets my expectations. I used the water I boiled the cabbage in for the sauce mixture and am cooking them in my crockpots. Other than that I made no changes to the recipe. OMG it smells delicious. Be back later. I threw away my old recipe which was good, but this one surpassed all expectations. I will always make them this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Awesome recipe-- I hadn't ever had halupki made with sauerkraut, and it was good. Thanks for the recipe Also- I just used tomato sauce and crushed tomatoes, didnt have ground pork, nor parsley. It came out good, and was even better the next day. I also wished I had more cabbage leaves, as I ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Fabulous... I've made this one over and over and get rave reviews every time. Great meal to make to feed a crowd for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Winland Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These are simply the best! I'm pregnant and got a craving for cabbage rolls, which I hadn't had since I was a young child. Because I like to use organic products where I can, I made a few changes to the recipe. My store doesn't carry an organic condensed tomato soup, or even a plain organic tomato soup, so I used an organic cream of tomato and reduced the water. I didn't have garlic salt, so I used fresh garlic and salt to taste. For more flavor, I also increased the amount of parsley. I ran out of cabbage leaves had extra meat mixture, so I crumbled it over top, before adding the other toppings. These were a huge hit with our family and also our last minute dinner guests. This is a new favorite recipe that I plan to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I tried this recipe as a change from the regular way I made stuffed cabbage (polish piggies) I thought this recipe was great, my family loved it, it was even better the next day. Thank you Brenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States