Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This my 'go to' recipe for stuffed cabbage. I recently made a double batch the day before I planned to serve it. I refrigerated it uncooked overnight and the flavors really melded into a super tasty dish. The only thing I tinkered with was substituting cut up kielbasa for the bacon. This recipe is just outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
fantastic! I did use base pasta sauce instead of tomato soup. But holy cow we ate this almost completely gone and there were only 5 of us. One of them being a 2 year old who gobdled up a complete roll saying num num num the whole time. And my mother who does not like cooked cabbage and she ate 3 rolls. I served them over white rice. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe. I've had stuffed cabbage before but never with sauerkraut. This recipe is a keeper. I made the recipe just as called out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joshua, Texas, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I used ground turkey as a substitute for the beef/pork for a healthier alternative and it turned out great. The soup mixed in with the ground turkey keeps it very moist and adds great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I decided to make stuffed cabbage and out of curiosity looked up how other people make it. I discovered this recipe and it is similar to the recipe that I make handed down from my slovak/"ruthenian" grandmother (Helen). The only difference is, the diced tomatos are substitued by tomato sauce, and bacon with kielbasa. I've' tried bacon and diced tomatos,(out of necessity) but prefer my grandmother's way. I like to cook this in oven at 350 and cover for the first hour then uncover the last 1/2 hour. So, I guess I'm stickin with my original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Good recipe! I had a similar recipe and couldn't find it. This one is almost exact,except you line your pan with 1/2 sauerkraut and place the "rolls" on top, and place remaining "kraut" on top of rolls, then cover with tomato sauce/soup and add bacon on top. I make this dish for family reunions,work parties etc, and am always asked for the recipe! And my family makes sure I am bringing this for gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Just like Granny used to make! I loved this recipe. I used sliced kielbasi instead of bacon because that's the way my Grandma always did it. I'm not very good at rolling the cabbage though. I had a ton of leftover meat and ended up making meatballs out of it and made extra sauce to cover and bake them in the oven. My boys love the meat more than the cabbage anyway, so it worked out perfect for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chazlyn
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURIE
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was really yummy! I followed the recipes exactly except I didn't cook the rice prior to adding it. I think next time I will try to make this a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I never made stuffed cabbage before, this recipe was my first try and it was easy and delicious. I omitted the sugar and the bacon-and didn't miss them. My husband said they tasted like his grandmother's stuffed cabbage! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I have given this recipe a 5 already, they are cooking in my crockpots and I haven't tasted them yet but already know they are going to be delicious. I have been making a similar recipe for years, but this one sounded so good I just had to give it a try. I will be back later to tell everyone if it meets my expectations. I used the water I boiled the cabbage in for the sauce mixture and am cooking them in my crockpots. Other than that I made no changes to the recipe. OMG it smells delicious. Be back later. I threw away my old recipe which was good, but this one surpassed all expectations. I will always make them this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States