Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Excellent! used Napa Cabbage, the leaves are longer and easier to roll. otherwise followed recipe. mkes lots, but freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL; the only change I would make is to cook the bacon first; when cooked with the cabbage it got a bit mushy and didn't taste very good; when precooked the bacon added a nice smoky flavor; another option would be to slice some kielbasa and place that in the roaster while cooking instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Add a few sliced hot peppers into roaster for a little more of a zing. This dish has become my Christmas Eve specialty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This is the recipe my Mom used 50 years ago! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I've had lots of stuffed cabbage rolls, and these are the most flavorful! The sauerkraut makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Wow! Awesome recipe! I made half of the recipe and it still was enough for my husband and me to have it for dinner one night and then to have left overs twice! It makes a lot, so be warned! But, the good news is, that this recipe is just delicious. I will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallsington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
My grandmother was Slovak and made stuffed cabbage often when I was a child. When she passed away, I thought the recipe lost forever, until I discovered my mother could duplicate it with ease-must come from years of practice at Grandmother's side. However, since my mother didn't write most of her best recipes down, when she died I again thought the recipe lost forever. This recipe is the closest thing to my grandmother's, and it brings back wonderful memories just making it. And Jason can't get enough of it. Thanks for a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These stuffed cabbages are wonderful! Such a practical meal, too- they freeze well individually! I like to add a little more pepper and hot sauce to the tomatoes, but overall this is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleMary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was right up my alley! It did take a bit of work, but that's the fun part, right? I didn't use any water at all, because the biggest complaint was that the sauce was watery. I also added dried basil and oregano to the meat mixture before rolling, as well as extra garlic powder. I thought I had chosen a "medium" head of cabbage, however I only had about 20 leaves. I simply used the excess meat mixture to make meatballs to serve with the sauce. I highly reccommend this recipe with my alterations... between two of us, about half the dish was eaten in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I prepared this recipe and have some observations. First, I like to saute the onions in bacon fat before mixing them into the meat. Second, to make forming the rolls easier, I slice off the thickest part of the cabbage leaf stem. Third, the cooking time should be 2 to 2.5 hours at 350 degrees with the last half hour uncovered inorder to reduce the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States