Slovak Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I've had lots of stuffed cabbage rolls, and these are the most flavorful! The sauerkraut makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Wow! Awesome recipe! I made half of the recipe and it still was enough for my husband and me to have it for dinner one night and then to have left overs twice! It makes a lot, so be warned! But, the good news is, that this recipe is just delicious. I will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallsington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
My grandmother was Slovak and made stuffed cabbage often when I was a child. When she passed away, I thought the recipe lost forever, until I discovered my mother could duplicate it with ease-must come from years of practice at Grandmother's side. However, since my mother didn't write most of her best recipes down, when she died I again thought the recipe lost forever. This recipe is the closest thing to my grandmother's, and it brings back wonderful memories just making it. And Jason can't get enough of it. Thanks for a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These stuffed cabbages are wonderful! Such a practical meal, too- they freeze well individually! I like to add a little more pepper and hot sauce to the tomatoes, but overall this is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleMary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was right up my alley! It did take a bit of work, but that's the fun part, right? I didn't use any water at all, because the biggest complaint was that the sauce was watery. I also added dried basil and oregano to the meat mixture before rolling, as well as extra garlic powder. I thought I had chosen a "medium" head of cabbage, however I only had about 20 leaves. I simply used the excess meat mixture to make meatballs to serve with the sauce. I highly reccommend this recipe with my alterations... between two of us, about half the dish was eaten in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I prepared this recipe and have some observations. First, I like to saute the onions in bacon fat before mixing them into the meat. Second, to make forming the rolls easier, I slice off the thickest part of the cabbage leaf stem. Third, the cooking time should be 2 to 2.5 hours at 350 degrees with the last half hour uncovered inorder to reduce the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I was striving to mimic my Grandma's and while this recipe was good; it didn't match hers. I omitted the sauerkraut and bacon and added an extra can of soup as suggested by other reviewers. I will make it again after polling other family members for advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
It is so good to see a good stuffed cabbage recipe. I add a few changes from what I recall from my youth. The rolls should be softer; so I will add more rice and as some suggested 1 teaspoon of fennel seed. My preference is to have well cooked cabbage; it could have been I did not add enough liquid. My mistake; I would use more tomato soup and tomato puree. Thanks for a fabulous start to wonderful recipe. You can't beat the smell from the kitchen when cooking or reheating them Bernie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I omitted the rice to make this lo-carb and it was awesome! Def make in a large roasting pan... it was hard to clean out my oven because all I had was a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
this is the best Microwave the cabbage its easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States