Slovak Sauerkraut Christmas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Flavorful and versatile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Good soup but not a classic Slovak recipe. This soup if prepared on the eve of Christmas would not have had meat, as it was a holy day to fast. But very tasty soup and well written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DadinMass

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sturbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Hey, I'm not Laura, I'm just bootlegging her reviews. This is the ABSOLUTE BEST kapustnica recipe on the North American Continent. Try it. I've had Slovak friends in fits because they've not tasted anything like it since they lived back home. One of the most surprisingly flavorful meals you'll ever have. I wish I could find the person who submitted it, zizala. A pure genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made it for a Christmas party. Very divergent opinions. Some Russian friends felt it was really spicy (???) others loved it. I think spicy actually meant too "paprilkay" but who knows. Here is my opinion: Disgusting combination of sauerkraut and pork led to a greasy soup that was also very very - yes - sour. It was thoroughly unpleasant, making a fair number of people sick. In the end a lot of wasted money on specialty ingredients. Would have been better off with borscht or something similar. Try it at a restaurant first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this in honor of my Gpa, who was 100% Slovak. We had it for Christmas Eve, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. Wish I had made a double batch! None of us thought it tasted too "krauty." I used Andoullie sausage because I couldn't find Hungarian sausage. The mushrooms gave us a problem, as they were gritty, and we didn't rinse or soak them ahead of time, which may just be a rookie error. This is definitely the start of a new tradition in our home. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is absolutely delicious...so full of flavor! I'm living in the Czech Republic at the moment, and it tastes just like the soup served in my favorite local restaurant. The only change I made was to substitute cream for sour cream, as it was what I had on hand. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
An excellent recipe to use up leftover ham, this is absolutely delicious and easy to make. I did not have Hungarian paprika or Hungarian dry sausage, so I used Spanish smoked paprika and extra leftover sliced ham. I also used chicken broth instead of water. When I make it again, I will not cook the ham for so long, I might add more sauerkraut and prunes, but there is no need to change anything else. I fully expect this to be a leftover favorite, as well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Don't be afraid to try this recipe! ;-) I was looking for some sauerkraut soup and decided to try this one although it sounded so strange. Also I am a Czech, so I was intrigued that it was a Slovak recipe. Thanks so much to the poster for sharing it with us! It is absolutely amazing! I love both sauerkraut soups, potato soups and mushroom soups. This soup combines two of them. I think next time I will try to add some potatoes - boiled separately ;-). I used a real wild mushroom mixture - picked by my mom and dried by her. But I think I will be fine using a mixture of dried wild mushrooms which are now available in the supermarkets here in US. The dried plums/prunes - I was reluctant, but they gave the soup an amazing slight hint of them in the final result. Smoked ham - I used a regular ham and added a bit of liquid smoke. Overall this soup was a hit! My husband now considers this my best recipe ever! It made a ton and it didn't really get old to us although we are only two people eating the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States