Slovak Sauerkraut Christmas Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Everyone loved it! I ordered the paprika and sausage to use in the soup. I also used a package of dried wild mushrooms soaking them in chicken stock for fifteen min before adding to soup We make our sauerkraut which is easy to do and more flavorful than store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
AMAZING ... but you had better love sauerkraut; which we do. Saw the review regarding adding apples, if you do, omit the prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Peterlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I modified the recipe. I added 2 whole sliced apples and a a few chunks potatoes, some nutmeg and cloves. The apples add some sweetness and the potatoes absorb some of the saltiness. Nutmeg and clove add subike unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Molter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Flavorful and versatile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Good soup but not a classic Slovak recipe. This soup if prepared on the eve of Christmas would not have had meat, as it was a holy day to fast. But very tasty soup and well written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DadinMass

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sturbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Hey, I'm not Laura, I'm just bootlegging her reviews. This is the ABSOLUTE BEST kapustnica recipe on the North American Continent. Try it. I've had Slovak friends in fits because they've not tasted anything like it since they lived back home. One of the most surprisingly flavorful meals you'll ever have. I wish I could find the person who submitted it, zizala. A pure genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made it for a Christmas party. Very divergent opinions. Some Russian friends felt it was really spicy (???) others loved it. I think spicy actually meant too "paprilkay" but who knows. Here is my opinion: Disgusting combination of sauerkraut and pork led to a greasy soup that was also very very - yes - sour. It was thoroughly unpleasant, making a fair number of people sick. In the end a lot of wasted money on specialty ingredients. Would have been better off with borscht or something similar. Try it at a restaurant first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this in honor of my Gpa, who was 100% Slovak. We had it for Christmas Eve, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. Wish I had made a double batch! None of us thought it tasted too "krauty." I used Andoullie sausage because I couldn't find Hungarian sausage. The mushrooms gave us a problem, as they were gritty, and we didn't rinse or soak them ahead of time, which may just be a rookie error. This is definitely the start of a new tradition in our home. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is absolutely delicious...so full of flavor! I'm living in the Czech Republic at the moment, and it tastes just like the soup served in my favorite local restaurant. The only change I made was to substitute cream for sour cream, as it was what I had on hand. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
An excellent recipe to use up leftover ham, this is absolutely delicious and easy to make. I did not have Hungarian paprika or Hungarian dry sausage, so I used Spanish smoked paprika and extra leftover sliced ham. I also used chicken broth instead of water. When I make it again, I will not cook the ham for so long, I might add more sauerkraut and prunes, but there is no need to change anything else. I fully expect this to be a leftover favorite, as well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States