Slovak Easter Cheese (Cirak) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is exactly as my Grandmother and Great Grandmother made it. it will be the first Easter without her and I am making it alone. It will be sad but I know she will be with me in spirit while I make it. Love and miss you Gram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
jbchef - this recipe has nothing to do with scrambled eggs! It is a cheese since it is made by curdling milk. It is a fresh cheese made for Easter with eggs. This is the recipe my grandmother, mother and I have made for over 100 years. I have also added a pinch of fresh nutmeg for a little kick. I also server it with beets horseradish and cold sliced keilbasa for Easter breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Just finished making my Easter cheese. A recipe that has been handed down for generations from my Slovak ancestors. My only variation is to add some water , and when that surfaces you know you are done. The eggs are to indicate a new beginning . Happy Easter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
uhhh...this isn't cheese, it's a way to eat leftover scrambled eggs...and there are a thousand ways or so to season the recipe and make it more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Thank you. I made this when I was growing up in a Byzantine Catholic church. It is long since gone. I forgot the recipe. The only thing different is that we would take cloves and decorate the cheese with a cross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Just like my mom made and what she called it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I love this easter cheese! I used to make this with my Baba for many years!! This recipe is exactly the same with one exception my Baba always put a dash of yellow food coloring in it to give it a nice color!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
My grandmother and mother maid this cheese. I have been making it for 39 years. My children always still ask for it every easter. Enjoyed by all! A GREAT TRADITION!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States