Sloppy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is great as a base recipe, as written its 4 stars. I added some brown sugar and BBQ sauce to kick up the flavors a bit. The whole family loved it and my 6 year old had no clue it was meatless. haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was my first try at cooking Tofu and I loved it. I will definately do this again and now I want to try more Tofu recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Ok I made a bunch of changes and this recipe can be GREAT! I let to tofu sit over night in ketchup and stone ground mustard with McCormicks sloppy joe seasoning only 1/4 of the pack with some chopped red onion. The next day I baked like the directions already said but while the tofu was baking I sautéed minced yellow onion green bell peppers garlic and bacon. I added more ketchup and stone ground mustard along with about another 1/4 of the sloppy joe pre mixed seasoning and a pinch of smoked paprika. Then I minced the tofu and added it. We put this mix on toasted bread and It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This was a really quick & tasty meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kita Hansley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
As is, it is ok. I will try this again, but will use tomato sauce instead of ketchup. The ketchup completely overwhelmed us. It was good while we were eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
i really did not like these, could taste mustard a ton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
The first time I made it not it was ok, but not a fan of the texture. The second time my friend said to press the tofu and then cut to smaller pieces way better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Tastes very close to sloppy joes w/ ground turkey! I added a little minced garlic and put it in a processor to grind it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Really enjoyed this one. Added a slice of american cheese the 2nd time I made it, and after drying out on towels - just browned the 1/2 blocks of tofu in the frying pan, cooled for a minute then chopped, then crumbled them up even more in the pan with the veggies and sauce using the spatula. Hubby likes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
if you're concerned with the texture, try cubing the tofu and freezing it solid before baking (and add a few minutes of bake time. i learned that freezing tofu gives it a much better texture if you're using it in place of some meats. you won't fool anyone into thinking it's meat, but it's a much more satisfying texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ryan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States