Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Vegetarian Worcestershire sauce is available in most health food stores or even Trader Joe's or Whole Foods. If you can't find it there, you can make your own -- just do a search for Vegetarian Worcestershire Sauce online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This is YUMMO! I made this with red lentils to speed up cooking time, and I cooked the lentils with the sauce ingredients. After cooking the onions and garlic, I added a can of chopped tomatoes with mexican seasonings (to replace the 2 cups tomato...the can is 14 oz) and the lentils. Then I added about 2 cups of water and the rest of the ingredients. I let it simmer for about 15 minutes and it was great! The lentils still had a bit of "bite" but had a great sloppy joe taste. Even my husband, a confirmed meat eater, had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
My husband loved these, but I am not a huge fan of lentils. Good alternative if you don't want meat- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Thanks Marian for the wonderful recipe!The combo of ingredients rsults in a very flavorful sauce. I substitued low sodium soy sauce for the worchestershire. In the past, I have purchased "store brand" worchestershire sauce and it did NOT contain anchovies :) since I'm allergic to all seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Just to inform people that you can buy vegeterian worcestershire sauce that omits the anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Very Good! Even my husband approved! I used brown sugar instead of molasses. Excellent meat free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. L. Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars because it's a healthier alternative to real Sloppy Joes, it tastes just like a Sloppy Joe, it's cheaper than a real Sloppy Joe, and you want to keep eating more and more, just like you would with a Sloppy Joe. Kudos to the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by evacooper
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
yum! didnt have molasses so used honey, used regular mustard and chili sauce, and left out worchester... but it came out great! served on homemade whole wheat/white/rye flour hamburger rolls...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evacooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
While I liked these freshly made, I really loved these the next day! I used a can of diced garlic and onion flavored tomatoes, (undrained), in place of fresh. I added about a T. of regular mustard and brown sugar in the end. It was way too sweet the first day, but tasted fine the next day. So next time I would not add any sugar, and I may try some vinegar to see what that does to the flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Incredibly delicious. To make it a bit easier, I used 1-15 oz. can of Eden organic lentils (with sweet onion & bay leaf) drained as well as 1-15oz. can of Muir Glen fire roasted diced tomatoes (drained). So very very very yummy! I also used 2 TBS brown sugar instead of the molasses. Thank you so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States