Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Very Good! Even my husband approved! I used brown sugar instead of molasses. Excellent meat free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. L. Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Vegetarian Worcestershire sauce is available in most health food stores or even Trader Joe's or Whole Foods. If you can't find it there, you can make your own -- just do a search for Vegetarian Worcestershire Sauce online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Just to inform people that you can buy vegeterian worcestershire sauce that omits the anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This is YUMMO! I made this with red lentils to speed up cooking time, and I cooked the lentils with the sauce ingredients. After cooking the onions and garlic, I added a can of chopped tomatoes with mexican seasonings (to replace the 2 cups tomato...the can is 14 oz) and the lentils. Then I added about 2 cups of water and the rest of the ingredients. I let it simmer for about 15 minutes and it was great! The lentils still had a bit of "bite" but had a great sloppy joe taste. Even my husband, a confirmed meat eater, had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This recipe tasted very similar to barbeque, so it is a great veggie option for sloppy joes. My partner and I weren't crazy about it, but I think that's because it was so sweet due to all the molasses. I will make it again, but with less molasses. However, if you want something vegetarian almost exactly like traditional barbeque, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Incredibly delicious. To make it a bit easier, I used 1-15 oz. can of Eden organic lentils (with sweet onion & bay leaf) drained as well as 1-15oz. can of Muir Glen fire roasted diced tomatoes (drained). So very very very yummy! I also used 2 TBS brown sugar instead of the molasses. Thank you so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
These are missing a certain something that I haven't decided upon yet, but are pretty good. They're very healthy and unique so I think I'll make again w/ a couple spice alterations. This recipe serves four-that's for 2 burgers apiece, fyi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Soooooooo good!!! My family loved this recipe. If you like this one, try "Unsloppy Joes" on this website.....they are both wonderful recipes! Thanks so much for the submission~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars because it's a healthier alternative to real Sloppy Joes, it tastes just like a Sloppy Joe, it's cheaper than a real Sloppy Joe, and you want to keep eating more and more, just like you would with a Sloppy Joe. Kudos to the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
We recently are switching to more healthy diet and so less meat. This recipe was really good , first time trying lentils and we enjoyed them like this . Even my picky kids didn't complain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States