Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe! I'm not vegetarian, but I'm always looking for ways to make my family's favorite foods healthier. Sloppy Joes are one of our favorite comfort foods, and these were every bit as good as the "ground beef and a can of sauce" version. We may never eat a regular sloppy joe again! I did add extra chili powder and a bit of cayenne to give it some extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was a great way to use lentils. Although I used a prepared can of sloppy joe sauce (due to some time and ingredient constraints), I found this recipe to be very appealing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wiklanski03

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Even cold! We scooped the leftovers into a couple of hero rolls, wrapped them up tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerated. The next day we had a nice lunch ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Tasted pretty much like baked beans on a bun to me. If that sounds good to you - go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
These are so good! And cheap! I just ate the sams part without the bread cause it was so good. My fiance loved it- always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Thanks Marian for the wonderful recipe!The combo of ingredients rsults in a very flavorful sauce. I substitued low sodium soy sauce for the worchestershire. In the past, I have purchased "store brand" worchestershire sauce and it did NOT contain anchovies :) since I'm allergic to all seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
My family enjoys lentils and use them as a substitute for taco filling, so we thought this would be tasty. We tried this recipe twice... The first time as written, which resulted in a fairly bland sloppy joe per my family. So the next time I tried preparing the sauce then adding the lentils and water to let them simmer together. I was hoping the lentils would absorb more flavor. Sadly, they still left us cold. I appreciate that it's a healthy recipe, but they were missing something, and my family didn't like them enough to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
We recently are switching to more healthy diet and so less meat. This recipe was really good , first time trying lentils and we enjoyed them like this . Even my picky kids didn't complain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars because it's a healthier alternative to real Sloppy Joes, it tastes just like a Sloppy Joe, it's cheaper than a real Sloppy Joe, and you want to keep eating more and more, just like you would with a Sloppy Joe. Kudos to the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Soooooooo good!!! My family loved this recipe. If you like this one, try "Unsloppy Joes" on this website.....they are both wonderful recipes! Thanks so much for the submission~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States