Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Suprisingly similar taste to its brother Joe... I'm impressed! I used 2 tbsp of brown sugar instead of the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I have three young kids (ages 4, 3, and 1) and they LOVE these. Sometimes I substitute brown sugar for the molasses if I'm out, but otherwise I make it as written. We eat it on fresh 12 grain bread topped with a tiny bit of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I over-cooked my lentils so I add some cooked rice that I had in the fridge and it was fabulous! My daughter thought they were too spicy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmin Souza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Felton, California, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Good, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babeltek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Way too sweet for my tastes, and I even used tomato sauce instead of ketchup! I like the idea of lentil sloppy joes, though, so I will experiment with this to suit my family's tastes! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Simple to make and very tasty. We halved the recipe and had nothing to drain from the lentils (just one big mush) - but it turned out just fine. Might use just a tad bit less water next time to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I thought this was really good. Same texture as a sloppy Joe. Kids didnt like it. Had to boil the lentils for an hour to achieve tenderness. Since the kids wouldnt eat it willingly I wont make again. But at least I will have good leftover sandwichs for a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
My husband loved these, but I am not a huge fan of lentils. Good alternative if you don't want meat- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I made this because we were having a vegetarian friend over for dinner and it was enjoyed by everyone. I changed the fresh tomato and paste for a can of tomatoes and reduced the molasses to 1 tbls, which was plenty, otherwise made as written. Served in floured baps with grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I really had higher expactations on this dish based on the reviews. I do like the fact this is a healthy meal, but it was so bland, one of the reviewers mentioned about trying to cook the lentils with the sauce instead of water to absorb more flavor, maybe this could be an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States