Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great taste and easy to make! I used red lentils (if so, cook with 2.5 cups of water and top up with another 0.5 cups of water to keep them from drying out, if needed). I substituted 2 TBS of brown sugar for the molasses (as mentioned in a previous comment) and worked out well. I feel like this made a lot, though, and would say that the amount made would be more like 7 or 8 servings. Doesn't taste exactly like sloppy joes, but still very yummy - I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This turned out even better than when I use tvp! It was more filling than when I use tvp or when I've cooked with beef! The only things I changed were: I added a full can of tomato paste because I was out of ketchup and I used mustard instead of mustard powder because I didn't have any. I highly recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I loved it and I had never tried lentils before. I like sloppy joes sweet so I only changed the amount of chili powder. My husband didnt care for it though but ate a buns worth and my son took one bite and said he didnt like the green things :(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apryllshowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The kids did not like the taste. I founda it also too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This tastes GREAT! I am new to the vegan lifestyle and this was one of the first recipes I tried, looking forward to trying more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These were good, however, don't add the Worcestershire sauce if you need to make it vegetarian. W. sauce has anchovies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I did not use Worcestershire sauce, but used 2 tablespoons of Light Brown Sugar. It was a nice barbecue flavor while keeping it vegetarian. I've never found vegetarian Worcestershire sauce in my market so far. It wasn't incredible, but my house ate it with smiles and I appreciate the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Omega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Not bad, but they are a bit like baked beans. I ended up using the beans from an open bag of beans for 12 bean ham soup (no lentils in the pantry, although I could've sworn I'd bought some), which worked well enough. I boiled them closer to 1 1/2 hours, though, until they were soft. then I proceeded with the recipe. I didn't have enough ketchup so used a full can of tomato paste, which made it thicker--something I prefer. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
The only change I made was to use homemade ketchup (in-a-pinch ketchup from this site). Quite different from sloppy joes, but still good. Served my husbands on a ww bun and mine on a ww pita, which was also good. I got 7 servings out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I'm a vegetarian and these still weren't close enough to Sloppy 'joes'. Something about the sauce was off. My husband enjoyed it, but the kids and I didn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allenwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States