Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I used this over rice. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Very good! I made this mostly for my daughter who loves lentils, but the whole family enjoyed it. It was even better the next day. I served on honey wheat buns with bread and butter pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Good replacement for beef. I did cook the lentils in beef broth to give it more of the flavor without the cost or fat content. I also like the flexibility of being able to use fresh or canned tomatoes. This time around I used canned tomatoes since its winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed another's idea to cook everything (used red lentils) together. I also halved the brown sugar, used regular mustard, and used low sodium soy sauce instead of Worcestershire. Overall, pretty good. I was missing a tangier flavor, but I will definitely make again. Next time I would add less water since there's already liquid from tomatoes. I had to use some brown rice for a quick thickener. Tasted like childhood especially with some American cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ameeadora06
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I am finding that Lentils are a great place to start for being a new vegetarian. So versatile. I added some hot sauce for a bolder kick, and I also used a dash of Apple Cider Vinegar and a dash of Soy Sauce in place of the Worcestershire. I liked the flavor, but I can't say that I loved this recipe because it lacks any kind of texture. I would at least stir in some garbanzo beans, or put crunchy cabbage slaw on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
It was okay, kids didn't like the texture. Taste was good but the color and texture was not like sloppy joes that I usually make so it didn't work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheNewMe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was yummy! We used TVP instead of lentils, also added oregano, onion powder, garlic powder and soy sauce instead of worcestershire sauce. Super satisfying & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Scrumptious!! I didn't have the mustard powder and I completely forgot the black pepper. Still, I ate two of them even though I was full after one. I couldn't stop myself. Everybody liked them, even my die hard meat and potato eating dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I simply added manwich sloppy joe sauce with the lentils and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I used ground beef instead of lentils; not realizing it want even listed like this as a recipe. Everything about the ingredients makes it the best recipe yet, having tried many. Next time I will definitely make them vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States