Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Vegetarian Worcestershire sauce is available in most health food stores or even Trader Joe's or Whole Foods. If you can't find it there, you can make your own -- just do a search for Vegetarian Worcestershire Sauce online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars because it's a healthier alternative to real Sloppy Joes, it tastes just like a Sloppy Joe, it's cheaper than a real Sloppy Joe, and you want to keep eating more and more, just like you would with a Sloppy Joe. Kudos to the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Thanks Marian for the wonderful recipe!The combo of ingredients rsults in a very flavorful sauce. I substitued low sodium soy sauce for the worchestershire. In the past, I have purchased "store brand" worchestershire sauce and it did NOT contain anchovies :) since I'm allergic to all seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Incredibly delicious. To make it a bit easier, I used 1-15 oz. can of Eden organic lentils (with sweet onion & bay leaf) drained as well as 1-15oz. can of Muir Glen fire roasted diced tomatoes (drained). So very very very yummy! I also used 2 TBS brown sugar instead of the molasses. Thank you so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Soooooooo good!!! My family loved this recipe. If you like this one, try "Unsloppy Joes" on this website.....they are both wonderful recipes! Thanks so much for the submission~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
We recently are switching to more healthy diet and so less meat. This recipe was really good , first time trying lentils and we enjoyed them like this . Even my picky kids didn't complain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
These are so good! And cheap! I just ate the sams part without the bread cause it was so good. My fiance loved it- always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Even cold! We scooped the leftovers into a couple of hero rolls, wrapped them up tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerated. The next day we had a nice lunch ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was a great way to use lentils. Although I used a prepared can of sloppy joe sauce (due to some time and ingredient constraints), I found this recipe to be very appealing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wiklanski03

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe! I'm not vegetarian, but I'm always looking for ways to make my family's favorite foods healthier. Sloppy Joes are one of our favorite comfort foods, and these were every bit as good as the "ground beef and a can of sauce" version. We may never eat a regular sloppy joe again! I did add extra chili powder and a bit of cayenne to give it some extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States