Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I really had higher expactations on this dish based on the reviews. I do like the fact this is a healthy meal, but it was so bland, one of the reviewers mentioned about trying to cook the lentils with the sauce instead of water to absorb more flavor, maybe this could be an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Reading all the "Even the meat lovers in my family loved them!" type reviews was encouraging. Unfortunately, all but a few test bites of this went in the trash. I'm usually pretty open - I guess lentils just aren't my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Thank you so much for this recipe! I am coming up on my one year vegetarian anniversary and have been getting bored with some other recipes. I thought I was craving meat, but after trying this, I realized I just needed something better! I prepared as directed just increasing the amounts of garlic and onion a little. I would challenge any meat eater to not have seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very good recipe, made as directed except I didn't have celery seed and I only used 1 T. of molasses. I served it with cole slaw on top and it was delicious. the only reason I give it four stars is because the taste was more like bbq and less like sloppy joes. But I will definitely make it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
While I liked these freshly made, I really loved these the next day! I used a can of diced garlic and onion flavored tomatoes, (undrained), in place of fresh. I added about a T. of regular mustard and brown sugar in the end. It was way too sweet the first day, but tasted fine the next day. So next time I would not add any sugar, and I may try some vinegar to see what that does to the flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and it was really good. This time I was missing a couple ingredients so I used a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes and 2 tablespoons of spicy mustard instead of mustard powder. I think they were even better this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Maine, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I just made this loved it.I however changed a few items. I didn't use the Tomatoes I just used the whole can of tomato paste w/ 2 cans of water and I just squeezed the ketcup in so maybe 2-4 tbsp and then minced dried onions drop in with the water:) I will make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Everyone loved this! I used canned lentils, tomatos, and brown sugar, because that is what we had. Looking forward to leftovers for lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Just made this recipe. I used half yellow and half black lentils. And instead of 3 T of molasses, I used 1 T of molasses and 2 T of brown sugar. Since I live in a country where you can only get HOT chili powder, I used about 1/2 teaspoon. It turned out pretty good. My 18 month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States