Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Next time I'll add the whole can of tomato paste. Great flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great taste and easy to make! I used red lentils (if so, cook with 2.5 cups of water and top up with another 0.5 cups of water to keep them from drying out, if needed). I substituted 2 TBS of brown sugar for the molasses (as mentioned in a previous comment) and worked out well. I feel like this made a lot, though, and would say that the amount made would be more like 7 or 8 servings. Doesn't taste exactly like sloppy joes, but still very yummy - I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This turned out even better than when I use tvp! It was more filling than when I use tvp or when I've cooked with beef! The only things I changed were: I added a full can of tomato paste because I was out of ketchup and I used mustard instead of mustard powder because I didn't have any. I highly recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I loved it and I had never tried lentils before. I like sloppy joes sweet so I only changed the amount of chili powder. My husband didnt care for it though but ate a buns worth and my son took one bite and said he didnt like the green things :(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apryllshowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The kids did not like the taste. I founda it also too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This tastes GREAT! I am new to the vegan lifestyle and this was one of the first recipes I tried, looking forward to trying more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These were good, however, don't add the Worcestershire sauce if you need to make it vegetarian. W. sauce has anchovies in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I did not use Worcestershire sauce, but used 2 tablespoons of Light Brown Sugar. It was a nice barbecue flavor while keeping it vegetarian. I've never found vegetarian Worcestershire sauce in my market so far. It wasn't incredible, but my house ate it with smiles and I appreciate the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Omega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Not bad, but they are a bit like baked beans. I ended up using the beans from an open bag of beans for 12 bean ham soup (no lentils in the pantry, although I could've sworn I'd bought some), which worked well enough. I boiled them closer to 1 1/2 hours, though, until they were soft. then I proceeded with the recipe. I didn't have enough ketchup so used a full can of tomato paste, which made it thicker--something I prefer. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
The only change I made was to use homemade ketchup (in-a-pinch ketchup from this site). Quite different from sloppy joes, but still good. Served my husbands on a ww bun and mine on a ww pita, which was also good. I got 7 servings out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States