Sloppy Sams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is REALLY good :) It's flavorful and easy to make! Definitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by evacooper
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
yum! didnt have molasses so used honey, used regular mustard and chili sauce, and left out worchester... but it came out great! served on homemade whole wheat/white/rye flour hamburger rolls...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evacooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
You know it's a good recipe when you make it for meat-eaters and they are having 2nds and 3rds and asking to take left-overs home. This is one of those recipes! Absolutely delicious, not to mention easy and inexpensive. I sprayed a non-stick pan with olive oil instead of using the oil called for and it worked fine and cut fat and calories. I also used Italian-style canned diced tomatoes since I didn't have fresh ones on hand, and cooked the lentils in the juice I drained off the tomatoes along with enough water to make the 3 cups of liquid. I made sure not to overcook the lentils so they weren't mushy. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
My husband and I are vegan and these are on what my husband had dubbed "the list". I add a can of corn for a texture change, and a couple of dashes of liquid smoke for another layer of flavor. Yum!!! Thank you so much for a recipe without expensive soy crumbles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were so good! I only used 2 Tbsp of Molasses. I didn't want it being too sweet. I added a bit more chili powder, mustard powder than the recipe called for. I also added about a tsp. of cumin. I used one can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APKinney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Made this last night. Awesome! Never had chickpeas in a dish before. I did not have to add any water to the Sloppy Sams, and I did not have tomato paste, so I used pasta sauce. Still it came together wonderfully. Will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I totally messed this up but it still ended up tasting great. Instead of chopped tomatoes I used a can and only had a big one. No prob, I'll just simmer it down by half. But I forgot when I actually cooked it. Also tried red lentils for the first time. Need to work on cooking those. Ended up cooking and adding more lentils and the whole can of tom paste, and still had too much liquid so I added some puffed amaranth. Worked great and more nutrition too. Ended up with a TON but some went in the freezer so no prob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I'm blown away that these didn't get all 5 star reviews. My husband and I LOVED these!! I'll be making these at least twice a month from now on. Some mentioned that it makes a huge amount, but I made a half recipe and my husband and I finished it off in one meal. I made it exactly as written, except for maybe a 'tiny' bit less molasses than is called for, used brown lentils, and served it on toasted ciabata buns. YUM! And as a nice bonus, super nutritious as well. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
So freakin good!! Cooked my lentils in broth, uses 1 can diced tomatoes instead of fresh, honey instead of molasses, and more like a ''splash" of Worcestershire sauce. Served all sloppy like over toasted buns with a slice of provolone cheese. You will not miss the meat at all, especially when your bread is nice and soaked with sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Next time I'll add the whole can of tomato paste. Great flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States