Sloppy Joes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Vikki
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Tried it tonight, changed it a little. I used 1 1/2tsp. Minced garlic,1 1/2c. ketchup, 1 1/2 Tblsp. Mustard, 6 Tblsp. Brn sugar for sauce, & since I only use extra lean hamburger , there was no liquid to drain. With the onions & green pepper, I used 2/3 of each. My husband was ecstatic, he said it was The Best sloppy joes he'd ever eaten. I know he meant it, coz he is a food freak & if he hadn't liked it, he would NOT have eaten it. He would have hit a junk fast food instead. He actually ate 3. We will definitely be having this on a reg. basis. Thank you for the excellent recipe Tamara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made this tonight and we loved it, I did follow Meredith's suggestion of replacing 1/4 cup of ketchup with BBQ sauce and added some chili powered since we like it a little spicy but it was awesome! Thank you for sharing this and thank you to Allrecipes for sending the daily recipes it is so nice not to have to think what is for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made this exactly by the recipe. Going EXACTLY by the recipe, it was a little dry, but we thought the taste was very good. It's a keeper and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by majo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ranburne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Riverside, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Easy, tasty and feel so much better eating this, than that stuff from a can! Made it with natural ketchup and toasted whole wheat buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina Treviño
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Delicious, easy and fast will be making this again and no more canned sloppy joe mix for this family, homemade is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Treviño

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is the same recipe that my Mom makes all the time and I do also, we sometimes swap the peppers for celery or add a teaspoon of A1 or Worcestershire sauce, also after you mix in everything we will add water just to cover the meat and let is simmer till it thickens. Also we sometime take a bowl and just dip potato chips in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Got it in email today and decided to try it. It went over really well with some friends who were over. 4 stars because it's a bit too sweet otherwise really good. Goes good with a medium dry red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
love it!!!!CTUALLY, IT'S MY GREAT GRANDMOTHER'S RECIPE AND A FAMILY FAVORITE TKS, MARY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This may be one of the best Sloppy Joe recipes I've used - and seems to be foolproof :) Not paying attention, I used 1/2 cups of onion and peppers and 3 T of brown sugar. It was still absolutely wonderful and everyone approved! There were NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Good stuff! Simmer on very low. The sugar will scorch when too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 4,013) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States