Sloppy Joes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Easy, tasty and feel so much better eating this, than that stuff from a can! Made it with natural ketchup and toasted whole wheat buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by China Babe
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Delicious, easy and fast will be making this again and no more canned sloppy joe mix for this family, homemade is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by China Babe
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is the same recipe that my Mom makes all the time and I do also, we sometimes swap the peppers for celery or add a teaspoon of A1 or Worcestershire sauce, also after you mix in everything we will add water just to cover the meat and let is simmer till it thickens. Also we sometime take a bowl and just dip potato chips in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Got it in email today and decided to try it. It went over really well with some friends who were over. 4 stars because it's a bit too sweet otherwise really good. Goes good with a medium dry red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
love it!!!!CTUALLY, IT'S MY GREAT GRANDMOTHER'S RECIPE AND A FAMILY FAVORITE TKS, MARY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This may be one of the best Sloppy Joe recipes I've used - and seems to be foolproof :) Not paying attention, I used 1/2 cups of onion and peppers and 3 T of brown sugar. It was still absolutely wonderful and everyone approved! There were NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Good stuff! Simmer on very low. The sugar will scorch when too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I've used this recipe for years and it's always perfect! Even served it at a casual summer party and everyone raved about how tasty it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I always try a recipe as is first to give it a fair shake... Not fair to rate a recipe if you've changed half the ingredients! I liked this as written, though a touch sweeter than I am used to. But like meatloaf, I change it a little each time! I do always cut back on the brown sugar, but that is the only consistent difference. I have done: half red, half green peppers; added a pinch of cayenne and cumin; a small can of chopped green chilies; a dash of Worcestershire; less ketchup and add some bbq sauce; used spicy brown mustard instead of yellow; a dash of hot sauce; and one of my favorites is to replace 1/4 cup of the ketchup with 1/4 cup of Goya Sofrito. Obviously I don't make all these changes at once, but in different combinations, and sometimes only make one. The point is, start with this basic recipe and tweak it... It's a great starting point! My son even suggested adding a few pieces of crumbled bacon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Great receipe - but if you want to kick it up a notch - add spicy ketchup and omit brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 4,120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States