Sloppy Joes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Good stuff! Simmer on very low. The sugar will scorch when too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I've used this recipe for years and it's always perfect! Even served it at a casual summer party and everyone raved about how tasty it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I always try a recipe as is first to give it a fair shake... Not fair to rate a recipe if you've changed half the ingredients! I liked this as written, though a touch sweeter than I am used to. But like meatloaf, I change it a little each time! I do always cut back on the brown sugar, but that is the only consistent difference. I have done: half red, half green peppers; added a pinch of cayenne and cumin; a small can of chopped green chilies; a dash of Worcestershire; less ketchup and add some bbq sauce; used spicy brown mustard instead of yellow; a dash of hot sauce; and one of my favorites is to replace 1/4 cup of the ketchup with 1/4 cup of Goya Sofrito. Obviously I don't make all these changes at once, but in different combinations, and sometimes only make one. The point is, start with this basic recipe and tweak it... It's a great starting point! My son even suggested adding a few pieces of crumbled bacon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Great receipe - but if you want to kick it up a notch - add spicy ketchup and omit brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This recipe is very similar to my own but I also add a splash or two each of Worcestershire & White Vinegar. I'm sure it's very good as is though. I just prefer a little more zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bay, Michigan, USA
Living In: Felch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have used this recipe for years and my family has loved it. It is easy to do and one always seems to have the ingredients on hand. One thing I sometimes do is add a little salsa to the mix as it is cooking. Also if I don't have brown sugar, I substitute a tablespoon of white vinegar and a tablespoon of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
After I found this recipe, I have refused to buy the canned sloppy-jo mix......My hubs and both love it..I have not switched anything up EXCEPT adding red pepper flakes when we want to spice it up! Great recipe Tamara! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mntgoatchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collbran, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Just want to interject here that preparing Sloppy Joes (or meat loaf) was always met with groans from my family. Then they would eat every last morsel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Aiyana loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Garcelon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 4,074) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States