Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
AWESOME!! I still added the small can of tomato paste, and added 1 TBLS (or more to taste) of brown sugar (we like the touch of sweetness it brings to the meal). GREAT STUFF! We liked topping our sloppy joes with cheese and/or pickles but they taste great as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This is a version of my classic recipe. I dice-up a small onion & brown it together w/1lb. lean ground beef. Drain off any excess fat. Add 1/2tsp. salt, 1/4tsp. ground black pepper, 4T. catsup, 1tsp. wet or dry mustard, 1 can condensed Chicken Gumbo soup & 1/4c. water. You simmer without a lid for about 20min. Another variation is to use 1can vegetable soup & 1/4c. catsup, instead of the Chicken Gumbo soup. Make certain you let this thicken up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made this recipe back in the 60's when I was in Girl Scouts! I forgot about it until recently. Sometimes we just scoop this up with corn chips instead of putting it on buns. This is a good and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Thank you SO much. My mother always made sloppy joes this way and I haven't had them for years! This recipe is not only wonderful but it brought back many fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I too had this as a child, we called it "Wimpy Burgers". My friends loved coming to my home for this because none of their mothers made it. I too, added 1 TBS worstershire, just a personal preferance, is very good without it as well. Thanks so much for submitting this, brought back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PegJane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
We love this recipe for sloppy joe's. The more traditional tomato based ones can be overpowering at times. My VERY PICKY daughter actually asks me to make these! A very good quick meal on ballgame nites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Very easy recipe that my mom used to make. She would sauteed a small onion before adding the ground beef and add a small amount of chili powder for a little extra taste. This will always be my favorite recipe from my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
This recipe is by far my favorite for sloppy joes. My mother used to make it, but I had been unable to find it anywhere. Thank you for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
A childhood favorite..........I also add one T of Worchester sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Yum Yum. Other good additions: Old Bay Seasoning, Crushed Red Pepper, White Vinegar, BBQ Sauce, and Sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States