Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
AWESOME!! I still added the small can of tomato paste, and added 1 TBLS (or more to taste) of brown sugar (we like the touch of sweetness it brings to the meal). GREAT STUFF! We liked topping our sloppy joes with cheese and/or pickles but they taste great as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This is a version of my classic recipe. I dice-up a small onion & brown it together w/1lb. lean ground beef. Drain off any excess fat. Add 1/2tsp. salt, 1/4tsp. ground black pepper, 4T. catsup, 1tsp. wet or dry mustard, 1 can condensed Chicken Gumbo soup & 1/4c. water. You simmer without a lid for about 20min. Another variation is to use 1can vegetable soup & 1/4c. catsup, instead of the Chicken Gumbo soup. Make certain you let this thicken up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made this recipe back in the 60's when I was in Girl Scouts! I forgot about it until recently. Sometimes we just scoop this up with corn chips instead of putting it on buns. This is a good and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Thank you SO much. My mother always made sloppy joes this way and I haven't had them for years! This recipe is not only wonderful but it brought back many fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I too had this as a child, we called it "Wimpy Burgers". My friends loved coming to my home for this because none of their mothers made it. I too, added 1 TBS worstershire, just a personal preferance, is very good without it as well. Thanks so much for submitting this, brought back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PegJane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
We love this recipe for sloppy joe's. The more traditional tomato based ones can be overpowering at times. My VERY PICKY daughter actually asks me to make these! A very good quick meal on ballgame nites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Very easy recipe that my mom used to make. She would sauteed a small onion before adding the ground beef and add a small amount of chili powder for a little extra taste. This will always be my favorite recipe from my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
This recipe is by far my favorite for sloppy joes. My mother used to make it, but I had been unable to find it anywhere. Thank you for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
A childhood favorite..........I also add one T of Worchester sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Yum Yum. Other good additions: Old Bay Seasoning, Crushed Red Pepper, White Vinegar, BBQ Sauce, and Sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States