Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I cooked the ground beef then had an emergency to attend to. 2 hours later I came back to my cooking with a starving family. I didn't add the water nor simmer for the hour. I just added the ingrediants, plus a little brown sugar, cooked 5 minutes and we ate. This was so good. I can't imagine it being better with the simmering, but I look forward to trying it. Thanks Nancy for this wonderful and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Nice change from regular sloppy joes. It was really good and I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
My family really enjoyed these! I also used ground turkey, added some onion and served on whole wheat buns. So easy to put together...the hard part is waiting for the sauce to thicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Just like I remember my mom use to make! I used ground turkey instead of beef, and added onion when I was browning the turkey. They were delicious on wheat buns. My husband who isn't a fan of sloppy joes even asked for seconds. Tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This was pretty good but could have used a little more flavor. My children loved it though. Very easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Thank you SO much. My mother always made sloppy joes this way and I haven't had them for years! This recipe is not only wonderful but it brought back many fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Sometimes the simplest things bring us the most enjoyment, as does this very simple dish. Tried it once and already receiving requests for more. Thanks. I will try it with the tomato paste and brown sugar this time. Until the jury reconvenes…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made this recipe back in the 60's when I was in Girl Scouts! I forgot about it until recently. Sometimes we just scoop this up with corn chips instead of putting it on buns. This is a good and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
AWESOME!! I still added the small can of tomato paste, and added 1 TBLS (or more to taste) of brown sugar (we like the touch of sweetness it brings to the meal). GREAT STUFF! We liked topping our sloppy joes with cheese and/or pickles but they taste great as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
This recipe is by far my favorite for sloppy joes. My mother used to make it, but I had been unable to find it anywhere. Thank you for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States