Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
My family did not like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
We love this recipe for sloppy joe's. The more traditional tomato based ones can be overpowering at times. My VERY PICKY daughter actually asks me to make these! A very good quick meal on ballgame nites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This is a version of my classic recipe. I dice-up a small onion & brown it together w/1lb. lean ground beef. Drain off any excess fat. Add 1/2tsp. salt, 1/4tsp. ground black pepper, 4T. catsup, 1tsp. wet or dry mustard, 1 can condensed Chicken Gumbo soup & 1/4c. water. You simmer without a lid for about 20min. Another variation is to use 1can vegetable soup & 1/4c. catsup, instead of the Chicken Gumbo soup. Make certain you let this thicken up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I've been using a recipe similar to this for 20+ years, but I omit water and use about 1 cup of ketchup (I use the cheapest kind I can find). A college roomate made these, and I tried it before I realized it was made w/Chicken gumbo soup. I might not have tried them otherwise, and would have missed a jewel of a meal! It was a good way to sneak veggies into my kids meals, as they never watched me make it. TRY IT! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Not wonderful but still pretty good. My three children really enjoyed this but my husband and I thought it was just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I saute' some grated onio into this when I make it,brown the beef and onions well before adding the soup and make sure you cook it until they are no longer "soupy"...and we don't put anything on our buns - Just the sloppy joe mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Very good. I added a Tablespoon of Worstershire Sauce and that gave more flavor. Really good with a slice of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This was a not a nice meal for us. Sorry Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I love this recipe! I was given this by an friend and they named it "Uncle Bruce's Drunken' Sloppy Joes. This is the only way I make Sloppy Joes now and it's great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I too had this as a child, we called it "Wimpy Burgers". My friends loved coming to my home for this because none of their mothers made it. I too, added 1 TBS worstershire, just a personal preferance, is very good without it as well. Thanks so much for submitting this, brought back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PegJane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States