Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I did not like these at all. My husband and kids thought they were 'ok' - but I thought they were just edible. Nothing to ever make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I have to admit, I went into this thinking I was doing nothing more than wasting ingredients but was I ever wrong! My husband can't eat red meat so I used ground turkey and added onions since we put onions in almost everything. As suggested by other reviews I also added Worchestershire sauce. This is wonderful - thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Excellent. I did add 1 tbspn of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I tried the canned stuff a while back hoping to recapture a favored flavor from my childhood. Unfortunately, the canned stuff was nasty! I found this recipe and was scared of the Chicken Gumbo soup in it, but decided to trust the reviews. I made it exactly as written with one substitution (a can of "eating right" not condensed chicken gumbo as my store didn't carry the usual condensed version - I decreased the water to make up for this sub) and it was AWESOME! My 3 yr old stepbaby LOVED it - ate every single crumb - and he never, ever eats his dinner no matter how good it is! My husband and I loved it, too. A really nice kid-friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I doubled this recipe minus all of the water, and put into my crockpot for about 4-5 hours on low. I also cooked with the hamburger while browning, one small onion diced, and 2 stalks of celery. I also added about 1/4 tsp. of chili powder. Served on fresh bakery buns. Really a very good change from tomato based recipes. So easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Canned gumbo? Good for a rush job, but its not anything as good as Mom's home-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This is the only way I will eat Sloppy Joes. It is less tomatoe and more zip than traditional Sloppy Joes which is why I love it. It is also a hit with my husband and toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
after trying a recipe similiar to this one I went on the hunt for one like it. I found this recipe and I will never go back to a canned sloppy joe sandwich. My family loves this recipe and it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Very easy recipe that my mom used to make. She would sauteed a small onion before adding the ground beef and add a small amount of chili powder for a little extra taste. This will always be my favorite recipe from my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This recipe for sloppy joes is the best and easiest I have ever found. A definate family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States