Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe was very very good. My husband loved it and he is very picky. It will be used on my meal rotation frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My kids thought these "wimpy burgers" were amazing. I only used 1 soup can of water and simmered half the time. Add a slice of cheese to the bun, and you have a deliously sloppy sandwich you can eat with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
My mother used to make this recipe fifty years ago. I don't know how she got the recipe but we used to love it. Everyone thought she made it up - - maybe she did but we loved it as kids and still do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is the only way I've ever had sloppy joes. Its the way my mom has made them ever since I was a little girl. As a time saver, if you don't have an hour, you can skip the water and the simmering. I usually season the meat with white pepper and Old Bay or Johnny's. I still try to let the mix simmer for 10 minutes after adding the ketchup/mustard/soup (and occasional can of diced green chilis) just to let some of the flavor settle in, but it does save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Yum! I have been eating these since I was younger when my mom used to make them. I add a tad of Worcestire sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I was extremely unsure about this recipe. I thought Chicken Gumbo sounded like the oddest choice. But, it turned out to be really, really good. I wouldn't call them sloppy joes and they aren't loose meat sandwiches. I would highly recommend giving this a shot. I hate it when people alter a recipe but if you have a little onion lying around then it could use a little chopped up in it. If you don't, it is still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I did not like these at all. My husband and kids thought they were 'ok' - but I thought they were just edible. Nothing to ever make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I have to admit, I went into this thinking I was doing nothing more than wasting ingredients but was I ever wrong! My husband can't eat red meat so I used ground turkey and added onions since we put onions in almost everything. As suggested by other reviews I also added Worchestershire sauce. This is wonderful - thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Excellent. I did add 1 tbspn of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I tried the canned stuff a while back hoping to recapture a favored flavor from my childhood. Unfortunately, the canned stuff was nasty! I found this recipe and was scared of the Chicken Gumbo soup in it, but decided to trust the reviews. I made it exactly as written with one substitution (a can of "eating right" not condensed chicken gumbo as my store didn't carry the usual condensed version - I decreased the water to make up for this sub) and it was AWESOME! My 3 yr old stepbaby LOVED it - ate every single crumb - and he never, ever eats his dinner no matter how good it is! My husband and I loved it, too. A really nice kid-friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States