Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe was very very good. My husband loved it and he is very picky. It will be used on my meal rotation frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My kids thought these "wimpy burgers" were amazing. I only used 1 soup can of water and simmered half the time. Add a slice of cheese to the bun, and you have a deliously sloppy sandwich you can eat with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
My mother used to make this recipe fifty years ago. I don't know how she got the recipe but we used to love it. Everyone thought she made it up - - maybe she did but we loved it as kids and still do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is the only way I've ever had sloppy joes. Its the way my mom has made them ever since I was a little girl. As a time saver, if you don't have an hour, you can skip the water and the simmering. I usually season the meat with white pepper and Old Bay or Johnny's. I still try to let the mix simmer for 10 minutes after adding the ketchup/mustard/soup (and occasional can of diced green chilis) just to let some of the flavor settle in, but it does save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Yum! I have been eating these since I was younger when my mom used to make them. I add a tad of Worcestire sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I was extremely unsure about this recipe. I thought Chicken Gumbo sounded like the oddest choice. But, it turned out to be really, really good. I wouldn't call them sloppy joes and they aren't loose meat sandwiches. I would highly recommend giving this a shot. I hate it when people alter a recipe but if you have a little onion lying around then it could use a little chopped up in it. If you don't, it is still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I did not like these at all. My husband and kids thought they were 'ok' - but I thought they were just edible. Nothing to ever make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I have to admit, I went into this thinking I was doing nothing more than wasting ingredients but was I ever wrong! My husband can't eat red meat so I used ground turkey and added onions since we put onions in almost everything. As suggested by other reviews I also added Worchestershire sauce. This is wonderful - thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Excellent. I did add 1 tbspn of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I tried the canned stuff a while back hoping to recapture a favored flavor from my childhood. Unfortunately, the canned stuff was nasty! I found this recipe and was scared of the Chicken Gumbo soup in it, but decided to trust the reviews. I made it exactly as written with one substitution (a can of "eating right" not condensed chicken gumbo as my store didn't carry the usual condensed version - I decreased the water to make up for this sub) and it was AWESOME! My 3 yr old stepbaby LOVED it - ate every single crumb - and he never, ever eats his dinner no matter how good it is! My husband and I loved it, too. A really nice kid-friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States