Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Yum-did not change a thing, other than double the recipe, leftovers are wonderful as well thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUANNE2584

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This makes GREAT sloppy joes, I was skeptical at first, but had heard good things. It has such good flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seng-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Climax, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cavalier, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I have never been a big fan of sloppy joes and couldn't understand why. I have tried probably a dozen different recipes and most have been tolerable but this was just what I've been looking for all my life. My husband first told me about using chicken gumbo soup and I thought it sounded bizarre, but it's really really good. We actually use closer to one cup of ketchup and 1 or 2 Tbsp of mustard, skip the water and put it in a crockpot on low for an hour or two. I ate 3 of them, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzball420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe was very very good. My husband loved it and he is very picky. It will be used on my meal rotation frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My kids thought these "wimpy burgers" were amazing. I only used 1 soup can of water and simmered half the time. Add a slice of cheese to the bun, and you have a deliously sloppy sandwich you can eat with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
My mother used to make this recipe fifty years ago. I don't know how she got the recipe but we used to love it. Everyone thought she made it up - - maybe she did but we loved it as kids and still do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is the only way I've ever had sloppy joes. Its the way my mom has made them ever since I was a little girl. As a time saver, if you don't have an hour, you can skip the water and the simmering. I usually season the meat with white pepper and Old Bay or Johnny's. I still try to let the mix simmer for 10 minutes after adding the ketchup/mustard/soup (and occasional can of diced green chilis) just to let some of the flavor settle in, but it does save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Yum! I have been eating these since I was younger when my mom used to make them. I add a tad of Worcestire sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I was extremely unsure about this recipe. I thought Chicken Gumbo sounded like the oddest choice. But, it turned out to be really, really good. I wouldn't call them sloppy joes and they aren't loose meat sandwiches. I would highly recommend giving this a shot. I hate it when people alter a recipe but if you have a little onion lying around then it could use a little chopped up in it. If you don't, it is still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States