Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is very close to what my mom made growing up. I diced a small onion and sauteed it before adding the meat. I also added a small can of tomato paste, additional mustard (probably 2 or 3 Tbs), about 1 Tbs of worcestershire, 2 Tbs of brown sugar and a total of 1 tsp salt. I used ground turkey and let it simmer for at least 20 minutes to thicken up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is the only Sloppy Joe recipe that I use. I don't change a single thing. For my little one, I'll mix Kraft Mac & Cheese with his Sloppy Joe in a bowl. He goes back for 2nds every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Thanks Nancy. This is the sloppy joe recipe of choice for me. I have made this for some time now, after having read reviews when I saw it here. As I often was served chicken gumbo soup as a youth, and love it, I decided to give this a try and have not regretted it. Simple, comfort food, and not tomato based, which is to my liking. I disagree with a reviewers comment, this is not blah! I have added to this here and there since, but that should not detract from the original. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEDLEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My family loved this. I did add a small onion, 1 Tbsp. Brown Sugar and a small can of Tomato Paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Great recipe. I too added 1 tbls of worcestershire and 1 tbls or brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These are the only sloppy joes I've ever really enjoyed. Sooo savory and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was my Dad's "secret" recipe for Sloppy Joes and I am thrilled to find it and have it again. One of my ultimate Comfort foods.....!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I have made these for years. The only thing I do diffrent is add a can of tomato soup with the gumbo soup mmm so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is THE recipe I have been hunting for! Fond memories of church camp sloppy joes. I can't stand the tangy ketchup based loose meat sandwiches. This is my favorite. Thanks Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
i made this recipe for a wedding shower for my daughter but it was awful. thank god i made it the day before so i could do some heavy duty doctoring up of it. it was so blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States