Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is the way I have made my Sloppy Joes for years, and the way my mom used to always make them. We all love it. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I would suggest if you like thicker sloppy joes that you thicken with crushed saltine crackers. Thats what my Mom did. We use to make this all the time growing up and I had forgot about it till now. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I hate sloppy joes, but my husband loves them. I have tried many recipes looking for one I could stand, and I have to say I actually like this one. I have made this several times and feel no need to make any changes. Not overly sweet, not overly tangy, not overly saucy - just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Super Delicious! Everyone loved these...very traditional, comfort food...perfect for a winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcwthompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
my dad taught me this recipe..slight variation, substitute some soy sauce for the ketchup and then add shredded cheese after placing it on the buns...its absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good. I've made this recipe for years minus the water and using 1-1/2 T. ketchup and mustard each as well as some diced up onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is very close to what my mom made growing up. I diced a small onion and sauteed it before adding the meat. I also added a small can of tomato paste, additional mustard (probably 2 or 3 Tbs), about 1 Tbs of worcestershire, 2 Tbs of brown sugar and a total of 1 tsp salt. I used ground turkey and let it simmer for at least 20 minutes to thicken up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is the only Sloppy Joe recipe that I use. I don't change a single thing. For my little one, I'll mix Kraft Mac & Cheese with his Sloppy Joe in a bowl. He goes back for 2nds every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Thanks Nancy. This is the sloppy joe recipe of choice for me. I have made this for some time now, after having read reviews when I saw it here. As I often was served chicken gumbo soup as a youth, and love it, I decided to give this a try and have not regretted it. Simple, comfort food, and not tomato based, which is to my liking. I disagree with a reviewers comment, this is not blah! I have added to this here and there since, but that should not detract from the original. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEDLEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My family loved this. I did add a small onion, 1 Tbsp. Brown Sugar and a small can of Tomato Paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States