Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious! I had never heard of this version of Sloppy Joes. My husband liked it much better than the tomatoey version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is a dish my boyfriends mother used to mafor him when he was little. I have changed it a bit, and something that I do differently is that I use 1 1/2 lbs ground beef. I also leave out the ketchup and use a half a can of tomato soup instead. I ran out of ketchup one day and found this tastes better. Every once in a while I throw in some sauteed onions and garlic powder as well. My son and his father both love this--so I'm sure I'll be making this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Our girl scout troop (498 yeah) made these when we would go camping many years ago. I still have them in my menu rotation. These are great and a nice change from the heavy sauce on most sloppy joes. Try it you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is the way my Grandma always made her sloppy joes and they are by far THE BEST! The other versions tend to be heavy on the brown sugar and too sweet. I also add onion when I have it, but it's okay to leave it out too. We serve them with Fritos, baked beans and Sprite just like Grandma used to do. My kids LOVE them and when they have sloppy joes made from the canned sauce they say, "These are NOT real sloppy joes!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I grew up with this but we called it spoonburger. My mom has been making it for more than 50 years! It is definitely a different taste than sloppy joe,not quite as tomato-ey, but we ate it over mashed potatoes and that is still the way I make it for my family and it is a definite favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is the ONLY Sloppy Joes my husband will eat AND it is the ONLY thing he can actually make. We have been married 52 years and it is a recipe he brought to our marriage :) The only thing he does differently is omit the water - otherwise it is just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is the way I have made my Sloppy Joes for years, and the way my mom used to always make them. We all love it. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I would suggest if you like thicker sloppy joes that you thicken with crushed saltine crackers. Thats what my Mom did. We use to make this all the time growing up and I had forgot about it till now. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I hate sloppy joes, but my husband loves them. I have tried many recipes looking for one I could stand, and I have to say I actually like this one. I have made this several times and feel no need to make any changes. Not overly sweet, not overly tangy, not overly saucy - just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Super Delicious! Everyone loved these...very traditional, comfort food...perfect for a winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcwthompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States