Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Just like my Mother In Laws. I added double the ketchup and a splash of worchester sauce for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juhnke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I actually got this recipe years ago while in the grocery store from a group of Firemen. They were buying a large amount of Campbell's Chicken Gumbo Soup, and I was extremely curious. When they told me they used it to make Sloppy Joes, I was intrigued and made them immediately. They are delicious and I cannot imagine making any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is almost exactly the sloppy joes I had growing up and I didnt remember how much I loved these until I made them again. In this hectic fast paced times it is nice to go back to simple and good. The only thing I do different is I omit the water and add onion, a little more ketsup to taste. These are so simple and they go together in minutes. Im so happy I found this recipe again. I hope you are as pleased with these as I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
We used to sell "bbq" sandwiches at the food stand at high school ball games. My mom always made them this way, and would always be the first crock emptied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I love this recipe! It's so easy and tasty. It works great with ground turkey also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I used ground turkey instead and they were very tasty, but different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Yummo, this is the way my mom used to make sloppy joes when I was a girl, and I thought I'd never find it again (who would've thought of using Gumbo soup?). My favorite this to do to make these even more special is it to spread some butter on top of the buns, lightly salt them, and toast them in the oven for a few minutes. FABULOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
YUM! We usually don't like leftovers, but we had this again the next day and I think it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious! I had never heard of this version of Sloppy Joes. My husband liked it much better than the tomatoey version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This is a dish my boyfriends mother used to mafor him when he was little. I have changed it a bit, and something that I do differently is that I use 1 1/2 lbs ground beef. I also leave out the ketchup and use a half a can of tomato soup instead. I ran out of ketchup one day and found this tastes better. Every once in a while I throw in some sauteed onions and garlic powder as well. My son and his father both love this--so I'm sure I'll be making this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States