Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I too had this recipe as a child. Only difference in my mom's recipe is 3 Tablespoons of Ketchup and no water. After browning ground beef and draining the fat add other ingredients and cook on medium to low heat for 20 to 30 minutes! My son and his friends loved these sloppy Joes! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I use about 1 1/2 lbs. gr. beef, 2 cans chicken gumbo soup (no water) and 1/4 cup catsup & yellow mustard. After beef is browned and drained, add soup, catsup & mustard and heat together for about 15-20 minutes. No chopping and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is a great, different way to serve Sloppy Joe's or as we call them- loose meat sandwiches. Another alternative is to substitute Vegetable Beef soup for the Chicken Gumbo soup. My Mom served these delicious sandwiches to us when I growing up in the 60's and 70's. They bring back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamstrat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I grew up on this recipe and love love love it. My mom never put mustard in it, but was still good. I could never eat the manwuich stuff. There is no comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This is very similar to the recipe my mother made for all our Boy and Girl Scout events in the 1950 & 1960's. The recipe has been passed on to multiple generations. Our recipe includes chopped onion while browning beef, and using tomato soup instead of water. The tomato soup sweetens it a bid without that overpowered tomato taste. Also add a splash of Worcestershire. The regular yellow mustard is a must. Using Chicken Gumbo soup is the only way to make "joe's" in my opinion. Great on toasted buttered buns. Not sure why anyone would waste money buying the canned Sloppy Joe mix. This is so simple. A family comfort food for weekend football parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is the same recipe my mom always used for sloppy joes. I prefer them this way. I added onion to my ground beef when I browned it, I usually do. Perfect in a hot dog bun too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richardthepoodle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have made this recipe, or one very similar for 40 years!! It is the only sloppy joes my husband loves!! I use equal amounts of ketchup and mustard, and no water. However, the next day I do add the water to bring it back to a thinner 'joe'. I love the chicken gumbo..........it is the only way I use chicken gumbo !! Hurray for this recipe!! We just returned from living in the Philippines for 6 years. I would bring with me cans of gumbo when we returned to the Philippines. Everyone there loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I felt this recipe was very bland. I ended up adding more ketchup and some chili powder at the last minute just so I could stand to eat it. My husband agreed with me. He stated that he felt it was to bland as well and that we just aren't bland people. I thought maybe with the gumbo soup it would be zippy but it wasn't at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've been making these sloppy Joes for over 50 years. They were included in a Campbell's Soup ad and with the three or four others, were called "Soup-er Burgers" Every one was delicious but I believe this was my favorite. Now, my great grandchildren enjoy them as much as their grandparents did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We call them Minnesota Joes! A very different but extremely tasty Sloppy Joe recipe. My boys at home LOVED it and I will have to double the recipe next time! Attempt 2: I added 1 T brown sugar to the mix and that put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States