Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is the same recipe my mom always used for sloppy joes. I prefer them this way. I added onion to my ground beef when I browned it, I usually do. Perfect in a hot dog bun too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richardthepoodle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have made this recipe, or one very similar for 40 years!! It is the only sloppy joes my husband loves!! I use equal amounts of ketchup and mustard, and no water. However, the next day I do add the water to bring it back to a thinner 'joe'. I love the chicken gumbo..........it is the only way I use chicken gumbo !! Hurray for this recipe!! We just returned from living in the Philippines for 6 years. I would bring with me cans of gumbo when we returned to the Philippines. Everyone there loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I felt this recipe was very bland. I ended up adding more ketchup and some chili powder at the last minute just so I could stand to eat it. My husband agreed with me. He stated that he felt it was to bland as well and that we just aren't bland people. I thought maybe with the gumbo soup it would be zippy but it wasn't at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've been making these sloppy Joes for over 50 years. They were included in a Campbell's Soup ad and with the three or four others, were called "Soup-er Burgers" Every one was delicious but I believe this was my favorite. Now, my great grandchildren enjoy them as much as their grandparents did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We call them Minnesota Joes! A very different but extremely tasty Sloppy Joe recipe. My boys at home LOVED it and I will have to double the recipe next time! Attempt 2: I added 1 T brown sugar to the mix and that put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I like to zip it up a bit by adding a little BBQ sauce and have even added A-1 sauce. Don't be afraid to experiment with adding condiments to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
My Sis always used this reciepe; It's my fav too. I reduce the mustard to 1 tspn and add 1-2 Tablespoons of Worschishire (sp?) sauce. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Just like my Mother In Laws. I added double the ketchup and a splash of worchester sauce for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juhnke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I actually got this recipe years ago while in the grocery store from a group of Firemen. They were buying a large amount of Campbell's Chicken Gumbo Soup, and I was extremely curious. When they told me they used it to make Sloppy Joes, I was intrigued and made them immediately. They are delicious and I cannot imagine making any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is almost exactly the sloppy joes I had growing up and I didnt remember how much I loved these until I made them again. In this hectic fast paced times it is nice to go back to simple and good. The only thing I do different is I omit the water and add onion, a little more ketsup to taste. These are so simple and they go together in minutes. Im so happy I found this recipe again. I hope you are as pleased with these as I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States