Sloppy Joes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have made this recipe, or one very similar for 40 years!! It is the only sloppy joes my husband loves!! I use equal amounts of ketchup and mustard, and no water. However, the next day I do add the water to bring it back to a thinner 'joe'. I love the chicken gumbo..........it is the only way I use chicken gumbo !! Hurray for this recipe!! We just returned from living in the Philippines for 6 years. I would bring with me cans of gumbo when we returned to the Philippines. Everyone there loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I felt this recipe was very bland. I ended up adding more ketchup and some chili powder at the last minute just so I could stand to eat it. My husband agreed with me. He stated that he felt it was to bland as well and that we just aren't bland people. I thought maybe with the gumbo soup it would be zippy but it wasn't at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've been making these sloppy Joes for over 50 years. They were included in a Campbell's Soup ad and with the three or four others, were called "Soup-er Burgers" Every one was delicious but I believe this was my favorite. Now, my great grandchildren enjoy them as much as their grandparents did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We call them Minnesota Joes! A very different but extremely tasty Sloppy Joe recipe. My boys at home LOVED it and I will have to double the recipe next time! Attempt 2: I added 1 T brown sugar to the mix and that put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I like to zip it up a bit by adding a little BBQ sauce and have even added A-1 sauce. Don't be afraid to experiment with adding condiments to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
My Sis always used this reciepe; It's my fav too. I reduce the mustard to 1 tspn and add 1-2 Tablespoons of Worschishire (sp?) sauce. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Just like my Mother In Laws. I added double the ketchup and a splash of worchester sauce for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juhnke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I actually got this recipe years ago while in the grocery store from a group of Firemen. They were buying a large amount of Campbell's Chicken Gumbo Soup, and I was extremely curious. When they told me they used it to make Sloppy Joes, I was intrigued and made them immediately. They are delicious and I cannot imagine making any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is almost exactly the sloppy joes I had growing up and I didnt remember how much I loved these until I made them again. In this hectic fast paced times it is nice to go back to simple and good. The only thing I do different is I omit the water and add onion, a little more ketsup to taste. These are so simple and they go together in minutes. Im so happy I found this recipe again. I hope you are as pleased with these as I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
We used to sell "bbq" sandwiches at the food stand at high school ball games. My mom always made them this way, and would always be the first crock emptied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States