Sloppy Joe Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
OK, here's the deal...I am a 38 year old mom of 3 and have ALWAYS been a Manwich junkie (don't worry, I did go to confession specifically for this in my 20's). This was even BETTER than my beloved canned Manwich sauce! It tastes so much fresher and all of the flavors meld together so perfectly, my older (10 year old) son and I (who until last night was a die-hard Manwich fan as well) were in heaven over these soft white buns filled with pure yumminess. The only thing I did differently was - aside from doubling the recipe - brown the meat with 1/2 a chopped onion and 2 minced garlic cloves (still added the onion and garlic powders later because we love those flavors) and added a splash of vinegar. I had originally planned to omit the water but went ahead and added it when I saw how thick it was as I wanted it to simmer for a long while to let all the flavors "marry". I know I'm going on and on about something so simple (I do realize we are still talking about a darn sloppy joe here) but if you knew how much I love them you'd totally understand (BTW - we don't add cheese slices, we're purists)! These are awesome, Laurie you are a saint for submitting!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
438 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My mom has made this "almost exact" recipe for over 40 years. The only things that are different: add 1 teaspoon chili powder, use fresh onion and cook with the meat and add 1 teaspoon white vinegar. Don't be afraid of the vinegar, it counter balances the sweetness of the sugar and the spice of the chili powder. I take these to potlucks and always, always, always get many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
My family loves this recipe. My husband is a chef and is constantly asking me to make this. The only thing I do differently is add some hot sauce to give it a little kick. I have also found out that you don't need to simmer it for 30-40 minutes. It's fine if you simmer it for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Magnificent! So easy. I doubled the recipe and made it with 1 lb. of beef. This is the perfect thing to whip up while the kids are napping and throw into the crockpot to keep warm until serving time. I think these just may be my favorite so far! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I think this was one of the first recipes I learned to make as a child. The only difference I do is to use dry mustard powder. Great and much cheaper and less additive-filled than buying something prepared. I like them sweet but you can adjust to personal preference. If you've got it you can saute some chopped onion with the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Delicious! I feel bad reviewing this recipe because I made a lot of changes -- I used ground turkey and cooked that with a chopped yellow onion. Then due to a tomato allergy I used a non-tomato ketchup which is made from carrots and beets -- due to the increased sweetness of the non-tomato based ketchup, I left out the brown sugar. I added about 1 tbsp. of vinegar per another review and extra garlic powder. These were the best sloppy joes we have had -- thanks for the recipe!!! Addendum: I have made this recipe many times as stated (except my non-tomato based ketchup) and it is absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Oh my gosh! I will NEVER eat any kind of store bought sloppy joe again. I just shared this with my mother-in-law (who has 7 children - she knows cooking). I'm SO impressed with this recipe. I did skip the mustard b/c I just don't like it. But the recipe is brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I added two green onions, one clove of garlic, 1 tsp of vinegar and 1 tsp of chili powder and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Oh my gosh this was so good! I did add a little cayenne pepper because I like a little spice. Also, we had no hamburger buns so we used hot dog buns, interesting but it worked and everybody left the table full! I WILL make it again, probably next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is way better than Manwich, just the right sweetness and tangyness. I doubled the recipe of sauce and used 1 1/2 lbs of hamburger, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States