Sloppy Joe Pockets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I just made these today using the "cook's note" directions. It doesn't get much simpler than beef, a can of sloppy joe sauce, and a can of refrigerated biscuits. These little pockets were awesome! It was a great twist on the traditional sloppy joe sandwich. I followed some of the suggestions from the previous reviews, so I also added shredded cheddar inside the pockets prior to baking. So good! Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Loved it! But I did alter a few things. I used my own biscuit recipe, used extra lean beef so I didn't have to drain it, swapped out the ketchup for a 6oz can of tomato paste, and used lowreys seasoned salt instead of regular salt. I sampled the meat mixture before I placed it in the dough, and it needed something more, so I added a lot of seasoned salt, garlic powder, and pepper. Also cheese! Gotta add a little mix of shedded cheeses!!! Delicious.. like a home-made hotpocket :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
HIS WAS A GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
My family absolutely loved these. It's one of their new favorites dinners, and first one the list when the old "what should we have for dinner tonight?" is asked. I added some shredded cheese inside each one, and its always a hit. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Very time consuming. I used smaller biscuits than I was supposed to but in the end it turned out good. I will eat it again but hopefully someone else makes it next time for me! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Quick, Easy, V-E-R-Y kid friendly. I'm a busy mom (what mom isn't?) , so I cheated and used sloppy joe sauce from a can. Spooned 2-3 tablespoons on each pocket with shredded cheddar cheese. I pressed my rolls out into 4 inch circles, and filled them, crimping with a fork to make "half circle" Sloppy Joe pockets. *** Note: I thought people were crazy thinking they could cram 3 tablespoons of meat into each one...but turns out yes you can! I just wasn't stretching the dough out enough. You need to REALLY stretch it to a point where u think it's almost too thin...do not worry. the meat will hold and they'll bake up nicely. don't forget the melted butter brushed on to make them yummy and golden brown! A real family favorite right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made these and they were a great hit ,loved them easy to make and no time at all a five star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Excellent. I will try adding some grated cheese next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Pretty easy to make but the only problem was that they would not seal together well. They still turned out ok, husband liked them I did not. I probably will try them again another time since my husband likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe IS AWESOME! If you want just regular sloppy joes on a bun, still use the recipe minus the biscuits. It is delicious and way better than the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States