Sloppy Joe Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mamasita
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This was easy to put together, although it dirtied several pans. I halved the macaroni & sauce, as per other suggestions, and used gluten free noodles. I did use the packaged sloppy joe mix and had to add 1 tsp of chili powder and about 3 tbsp of brown sugar to make it sweeter and a bit spicier so, I'll probably just make my own next time. The kids are loving it, though, so it's a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is a big hit with the family! I use McCormick sloppy joe mix, and also add half of a green pepper, and half of a red pepper, with a medium onion (all diced very small) in with the meat while it cooks, then adding the tomatoes & paste to complete the sloppy joe mix. Some reviews state they would prefer to try using canned Manwich to save on time, but I do recommend using the homemade version with the sloppy joe mix packet because of the consistency you get vs. using a canned sauce. Either way would work though. If you prefer to make a homemade version that the recipe calls for, McCormick Sloppy Joe mix comes out seriously close to the flavor you get with Manwich! I prefer the homemade version because it’s saucey, but not overly saucey, which works better with this recipe when layering it. The cheese sauce you make & added shredded cheese to mix with the macaroni, is absolutely awesome and makes for a very homemade taste, and is NOT dry at all. I do not sauté onions in the pan with butter as noted, because I do that beforehand with the meat. I do put butter in the pan, melt it and then add the half & half, flour & spices as instructed, etc. Be warned, the mac & cheese part of this recipe makes a ton! I cut back to about 10-12 ounces of pasta, and I layer the sloppy joe and the macaroni twice when I use a big enough casserole dish. If you're looking for a heartier meat mix to this dish, I do recommend doubling the sloppy joe, and cutting back on the mac & cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This looks great but before I make it I was wanting to know if anyone had tips on converting it by using the canned Manwich instead of the packaged envelope of Manwich? I am wondering if the canned diced tomatoes and tomato paste should be omitted? Any suggests or thoughts on this would be appreciated. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Ladd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I like this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
wonderful, family loved it. Will make it again, but will half the recipe size, it made a massive amount :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My husband and I loved this casserole. I had a small can of Manwich, so I substituted the taco seasoning and tomato paste with it. I still used the diced tomatoes though. I also used half cheddar and half Coby Jack cheese, milk instead of half/half. Excellent flavor. This is a keeper for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Trish
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Awesome recipe! Will definitely fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Loved this recipe. I think next time I might try to make a variation & try without the sloppy joe seasoning and just use the tomato sauce mixture, or maybe leave out the tomato sauce mixture and just add the cheese to the top. This was a very good recipe & the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Pretty good recipe here! I liked the combination of the two flavors. The leftovers, however, are not nearly as good; best to eat this one right away. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I simplified this recipe as a time saver. I made the mac and cheese part as it read, but rather than make the sloppy-joe portion, I just used two cans of bean-less chili. Yum YUM! Very heavy dish though. I would say it will feed more like 10-12 if served with a side dish and bread! I used two 8X8 pans and gave one to a friend that just had a baby. I think this would freeze well as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States