Sloppy Joe Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My husband and I loved this casserole. I had a small can of Manwich, so I substituted the taco seasoning and tomato paste with it. I still used the diced tomatoes though. I also used half cheddar and half Coby Jack cheese, milk instead of half/half. Excellent flavor. This is a keeper for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I tried this recipie the other night, with the only change being i had to make sloppy joe sauce from scratch, and I added about a pack of ritz crackers between the noodle layer and the meat layer. This is AWESOME! I got great reviews from DH and DS and I would def make it again! Great quick and easy kid friendly food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Pretty darn good! Next time I think I'll try it with canned Manwich and my own Mac and cheese recipe (which isn't quite as fattening as the one in this recipe!) A very good meal...good combination. Hubby and I had our doubts prior to tasting it, but we were pleasantly surprised!:-) Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C.Martin
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I GIVE THIS A 5 STAR. I MADE IT PRETTY MUCH TO THE RECIPE EXCEPT I ADDED MORE SPICES,FRESH GREEN PEPPERS AND FRESH TOMAOTES IN MY HAMBURGER MIX. I ALSO ADDED A LITTLE SPLENDA (SUGAR IF YOU ARE NOT DIABETIC) AND THAT TOPPED IT OFF. I LIKE THINGS WITH TASTE AND NOT BLAND SO THE EXTRA SPICES WILL DO THE TRICK FOR THIS DISH. (PARSLEY, SEASONING SALT, A "LITTLE" CAJUN SEASONING. AND FOR THOSE WHO DID FIND THE MAC MIXTURE A LITTLE DRY ADD A EXTRA 1/2 CUP OF HALF AND HALF AND 1/2 CUP BUTTER VERSUS THE 1/4 CUP. ALSO, DON'T SCIMP ON THE CHEESE. ADD A LITTLE MORE AND BE DARING. I USED MOZARELLA AND CHEDDAR. I MUST SAY WE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sully
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was a fun idea! We ended up using mostly sharp cheddar with some pepper jack cheese for the cheese sauce and we topped with mozzarella, just because that is what we had. The diced tomatoes added the perfect sweetness. The McCormick Sloppy Joe mix tasted fine to us. Thanks for the fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made this for 25 firefighters at our santa run it was very good everyone loved it. I will make it again next time I will add some spices to the mac & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I simplified this recipe as a time saver. I made the mac and cheese part as it read, but rather than make the sloppy-joe portion, I just used two cans of bean-less chili. Yum YUM! Very heavy dish though. I would say it will feed more like 10-12 if served with a side dish and bread! I used two 8X8 pans and gave one to a friend that just had a baby. I think this would freeze well as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Loved this recipe. I think next time I might try to make a variation & try without the sloppy joe seasoning and just use the tomato sauce mixture, or maybe leave out the tomato sauce mixture and just add the cheese to the top. This was a very good recipe & the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trish
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Awesome recipe! Will definitely fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
wonderful, family loved it. Will make it again, but will half the recipe size, it made a massive amount :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States