Sloppy Joe Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Not so good. It sounded wonderful, but I was disappointed with the results. I took the other reviewers' suggestions and made my favorite mac and cheese for the bottom. The envelope mix/sloppy joe topping was horrible. I had to doctor it up considerably to make it edible! I think if I made this using my favorite mac and cheese plus my own sloppy joe recipe this might be better, but I advise against the envelope sloppy joe mix....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Made this dish for a serving of 12. Came out pretty good, not a very aasthetic within this recipe. Looks more like dogfood. But the taste is great. A few changes... the mac and cheese part was good, i thought, but a few other people didn't care to much for it. read the other reviews and I suggest use your own recipe. 2/ i would make more sloppy joe than mac and cheese. We made too much pasta and craved more joes, but oh well. This recipe might also work with chili...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Pretty darn good! Next time I think I'll try it with canned Manwich and my own Mac and cheese recipe (which isn't quite as fattening as the one in this recipe!) A very good meal...good combination. Hubby and I had our doubts prior to tasting it, but we were pleasantly surprised!:-) Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C.Martin
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I GIVE THIS A 5 STAR. I MADE IT PRETTY MUCH TO THE RECIPE EXCEPT I ADDED MORE SPICES,FRESH GREEN PEPPERS AND FRESH TOMAOTES IN MY HAMBURGER MIX. I ALSO ADDED A LITTLE SPLENDA (SUGAR IF YOU ARE NOT DIABETIC) AND THAT TOPPED IT OFF. I LIKE THINGS WITH TASTE AND NOT BLAND SO THE EXTRA SPICES WILL DO THE TRICK FOR THIS DISH. (PARSLEY, SEASONING SALT, A "LITTLE" CAJUN SEASONING. AND FOR THOSE WHO DID FIND THE MAC MIXTURE A LITTLE DRY ADD A EXTRA 1/2 CUP OF HALF AND HALF AND 1/2 CUP BUTTER VERSUS THE 1/4 CUP. ALSO, DON'T SCIMP ON THE CHEESE. ADD A LITTLE MORE AND BE DARING. I USED MOZARELLA AND CHEDDAR. I MUST SAY WE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I make my sloppy joe's with Manwich and I tried this recipe and something about the mac & cheese recipe, the taste just didn't please me so I'm going to try it again with Velveeta Shells & Cheese, TBC....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Pretty good recipe here! I liked the combination of the two flavors. The leftovers, however, are not nearly as good; best to eat this one right away. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I simplified this recipe as a time saver. I made the mac and cheese part as it read, but rather than make the sloppy-joe portion, I just used two cans of bean-less chili. Yum YUM! Very heavy dish though. I would say it will feed more like 10-12 if served with a side dish and bread! I used two 8X8 pans and gave one to a friend that just had a baby. I think this would freeze well as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
My husband really liked this a lot but my daughter and I found the mac and cheese part to be pretty dry and not very cheesy tasting. Surprising since there is so much cheese in the recipe. Perhaps the 1/2 and 1/2 is overwhelming the cheese flavor a bit. I think this recipe has great potential, however, and may make it again just using my own mac and cheese recipe and top it with the sloppy joe topping from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This was a simple and fun recipe that is so kid friendly; absolutely perfect for all you moms out there with little ones. Paired with a salad, even the adults will have nothing to squawk about. Whenever I make "sloppies" I just use the Manwich sauce in the can rather than the tomatoes and seasonings, so that's what I did for this recipe too. Everyone loved the marriage of two of their favorite dishes in one casserole. Thanks so much Renee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I tried this recipie the other night, with the only change being i had to make sloppy joe sauce from scratch, and I added about a pack of ritz crackers between the noodle layer and the meat layer. This is AWESOME! I got great reviews from DH and DS and I would def make it again! Great quick and easy kid friendly food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States