Slippery Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Perfection! Only thing I omitted was the vinegar added an extra Tbls of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEOTONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Island Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Outstanding! Won rave reviews from the whole family (with the exception of girl child - who didn't care for the "afterbite") I did double the sauce, but next time I will triple it for extra for the rice. Excellent recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My husband said this is really a 6 out of 5...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yosemite National Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Thank you sooooo much for sharing! It is delicious! I made this for my husband, my parents, & my brother and they all love it too! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
AMAZING!! I used a bag of already cooked, tail-off shrimp and just tossed it in the corn starch, skipping a step. We both loved it, and wish it had made twice as much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa O'Keefe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was actually really good. I was nervous about tring it due to the negative reviews I read. Now I know why it’s called slippery shrimp as it is a little slippery. I did not think it was too sweet at all. Love the sweetness along with the spice in it. I have never eaten at Yang Chow’s but know how rewarding it is to reproduce a recipe from a great restaurant! I made Quick Chinese-style Vermicelli to go with this as I’m burned out on rice… I had to Dr. it up quite a bit but turned out great with this shrimp dish. I double the sauce to have enough to go with the Vermicelli (rice pasta). My hubby and I loved this dish…I really have come out of my cooking “box” and have explored a lot of Asian cooking and I’m really glad I have! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
To those that say this recipe doesn't provide enough sweetness...if anything, it's a bit too much sugar, especially when the vinegar accentuates the sweetness. I've never been to Yang Chow, but if this is representative of their regular fare, count me out. The ingredient list starts out okay, but I'd sub in ground Szechuan red pepper instead of cayenne. And, of course, 5 teaspoons of sugar is excessive for only a pound of shrimp. Something I did appreciate was the light battering and the subtle zing of the green onions. Too bad for the overwhelming sweetness, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Very good! I did not have white wine so I used sherry and I used rice vinegar. Wow! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Light and delicious, with a little zip. Just as I remembered! The recipe brought me back to my college days in LA...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia  Garreaud
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
WOW!!! This recipe is just fantastic! My teenage son summed it up, OMG!!! We love upscale Chinese food and to be able to make it at home and enjoy a GREAT restaurant quality dish right out of your own kitchen was very enjoyable. This is our new favorite dish. We decided not to include it in our regular rotation and to keep it for special celebrations or for a special pick me up! We also did the same recipe with Chicken and that was excellent as well! Thanks to Angela the submitter of this dish we can ALL ENJOY IT!!! Thanks Ange...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States