Slippery Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
In 56 years I've had plenty go in this mouth of mine, but last night was, as the old man put it..."a defining moment"...this was undoubtedly THE BEST shrimp dish we have ever had. OMG....we could not stop raving about it. I am so glad that we tried this, and I will be making this often. I don't know what to say, I am speechless, which is rare..but I am so pleased to have found this recipe. If you are a shrimp lover, friends you need to give this one a try..you WILL NOT be disappointed. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by kaspmary
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Love love love this recipe! It is dead-on exact to the Slippery Shrimp at Yang Chow's in L.A.'s Chinatown. One bite took me right back to the west coast! The second time I made it I doubled the sauce and that was nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia  Garreaud
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
WOW!!! This recipe is just fantastic! My teenage son summed it up, OMG!!! We love upscale Chinese food and to be able to make it at home and enjoy a GREAT restaurant quality dish right out of your own kitchen was very enjoyable. This is our new favorite dish. We decided not to include it in our regular rotation and to keep it for special celebrations or for a special pick me up! We also did the same recipe with Chicken and that was excellent as well! Thanks to Angela the submitter of this dish we can ALL ENJOY IT!!! Thanks Ange...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These tasted great when they were hot. Reheated, not so much. My only complaint is that the cornstarch didn't give it a good breading. Next time i will dip in battered egg, then maybe cornstarch? I think the shrimp should be "tempura" fried.... but everything after that was great! I did fry them in veggie oil with some sesamee oil bc I didn't have peanut oil. Will make again but with better batter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Looks like the LA Times recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAMPZALOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by astutefl
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This meal was DELICIOUS! I made it exactly as the recipe called for. I have never used a wok before to cook, but the shrimp took much longer than 45 sec to brown, like 5 min or so. Also, this recipe is VERY similar to Bang Bang Shrimp from Bonefish Grill, but this one has a few more steps and ingredients. Also, if you don't have a wok, you can cook it in a large skillet and be fine. A wok is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astutefl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Outstanding! Won rave reviews from the whole family (with the exception of girl child - who didn't care for the "afterbite") I did double the sauce, but next time I will triple it for extra for the rice. Excellent recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
While I have never had Slippery Shrimp, the idea of this recipe sounded really delicious. Unfortunately, I was extremely disappointed. It had an odd chemical taste to it, that I gather was the combination of vinegar, wine and cayenne. In spite of all of the sugar in the recipe, I found no sweetness to this. I guess I won't be making again. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Okay, I have been going to Yang Chow for 9 years now and after making a few changes I believe I am about 95% with revisions. I have made this 4 times over the past 4 days (I had alot of shrimp in the freezer) and here are my changes. Omit cayenne. 1 1/2-2tsp garlic, 2tsp ginger minced, five japanese dried red chili's (I found mine in the spice packet spice section of the grocery store where eveyrthing is like .99c)sliced down the middle or just use 1/2 -1tsp crushed red chili flakes ( I used both)or to taste, 3tbs vinegar, 1tbs sherry or wine, 1/2 tbs ketchup, 6tsp white sugar, 1tsp fish sauce or 1/2 tsp salt (I used fish sauce-no salt). Fry the shrimp really well, definately longer than 45sec. I use a cast iron skillet and cook the shrimp pretty hard until I hear it start to hiss. The goal is to get a good crispy shrimp. Once they are tossed in the sauce some of the crunch will go away, but it will still have great texture. Drain on a paper towel or cooling rack. All the other ingredients should stay as is. Combine the ingredients that make the sauce ahead of time to let the peppers marinate to give it some heat and after you do the garlic ginger step and add the sauce and cornstarch mixture, make sure to let it get really reduced to concentrate the flavors. I kid you not, I sat down and couldnt believe how close this was to the real thing. Don't forget to serve this over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
AWEsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States