Slimmers Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Tried this with a new stick blender & yummy. Used low fat margarine. Dolloped blue cheese in the middle of bowl to serve & that livened it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Excellent - I added a microwaves cooked, chopped up rasher of bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taumarunui, Waikato, New Zealand
Living In: Te Puke, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I thought this was a great soup for those of us watching our weight, it's a great alternative to all the recipes with heavy creams. I didn't blend all of the cubes once they were soft, I left some chunks to add some texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
As mentioned, this was an excellent based soup and was not based on creme. That being said, once it was put through the blender, it was bland. This was very easily fixed with a LOT of spices. When I first saw a dash, I almost laughed. I ended up putting in about 3 tablespoons of nutmeg, 1 tablespoon of ginger, and 4 tablespoons of cinnamon. I also used a sweet potato as suggested. Finally, to give a little nuttier flavor. I added about 1/4 cup of hazelnut fat free cream. This definitely kicked it up. All told it was a lot of fun to work with a girlfriend and figure out what to add to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made this as the recipe stated and it was very good. I had to add salt for personal tastes. The cans if Pumpkin are 15 oz a piece. Everything mixes well and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
As written I would rate this about 2.5 but the concept is good, so I ran with it. I sauteed 1 tbs fresh ginger, minced, with the onion in 1 tbs olive oil. To that I added 2 cups of homemade chicken stock and 1 cup of diced red potato, skin on and simmered for about 15 minutes until the potato was almost cooked. I used canned pumpkin and stirred it all together and continued to simmer, adding 1 tsp ground rosemary, 1/2 tsp cayenne and 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes until the potatoes were cooked. I removed the pot from the heat and added 1 cup 2% milk. Still low fat but very flavorful. Thanks Cheryl, for a good springboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Easy, fast, and delicious I used canned pumpkin, skim milk and added a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I was very happy with the way this soup came out. It was a bit bland, but I won't hold that against it, as it was easily fixed by being a bit more liberal with the spices and adding some honey. I loved the result and will definitely make a batch of this at Thanksgiving this year. I made this with just what I had on hand, so I wound up leaving out the potatoes and using slightly less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Definitely not the most flavorful soup when done just as the recipe states, but really good-- with modification. After tweaking a bit, I finally came up with a good soup: I used the same amount of pumpkin as called for, but cubed 3 medium SWEET (not baking) potatoes, and used them in addition to the pumpkin. I used liberal amounts of cinnamon, nutmeg, and (most importantly) salt. I pureed part of it well, but left part chunky, and that gave it a good texture. Just remember to use the recipe as a guide, and flavor it however you like, and you'll have a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a good base recipe, however, for more flavor and if you are not watching calories, not that this soup has a lot to beging with; I added a large carrot, 1 clove of garlic and a med. size granny smith apple. I pureed, the potatoes, carrots, apple, onion and garlic in a food processor and sauteed in 4 tblsp. of butter until soft. I transfered everything to a large pot, including the pumpkin puree which my so generous girlfriend gave to me after doing all the work, and then I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup of maple syrup, 2 tsp of cinammon, 1/2 tsp. of ground ginger, 1 tsp. of ground nutmeg, 1 1/2 tsp. of salt and a handful of chopped fresh parsley. I also added 1/2 tsp. of dry thyme and 5 cups of chicken stock. I used Herbox Instant bouillon very tasty. Bring to a boil and simmer for about 30 minutes, cool and then use a hand blender to puree and remove any lumps. My finicky 10 year old loved it and enjoyed watching me prepare it and expirimenting with different ingredients to add flavor to this soup. I love fine dining and I believe that this soup could sneak its way into one of those fancy restaurants I like to frequent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States