Slimmers Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
This soup was very plain. I ended up adding a bunch of stuff to make it taste better. I added more nutmeg and ginger. I also added garlic and maple syrup. If you garnish with freshly chopped rosemary, thyme and parsley it really tops it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Easy, fast, and delicious I used canned pumpkin, skim milk and added a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was a good base recipe; it's one of the few that doesn't call for cream. The only changes I made were to use: 1)stock cubes (chicken and veggie stock with 3 cups of water - normally each cube takes 2 cups - kept that simmering on the stove while I prepped the other ingredients, so it reduced a little bit more); and 2) one large sweet potato cubed. I think the stock and sweet potato added a nice depth of flavour. Next time I make this I'll skip the skim milk and instead use a dollop of fat-free creme fraiche in each bowl. Also I'll roast the pumpkin first (think this might make for a nuttier flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I thought this was a great soup for those of us watching our weight, it's a great alternative to all the recipes with heavy creams. I didn't blend all of the cubes once they were soft, I left some chunks to add some texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was alright, kinda bland and a little too thin for my liking. Not bad for dinner while losing weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Sorry, I just really didn't like it. My husband thought it was ok. I ended up spicing it up quite a bit- I added some yellow curry powder, ginger, and a splash of sherry and left out the nutmeg. It just tasted like... pumpkin. Bland. Like it needs something with a bigger flavor... just needs something. I did give 2 stars for it being such a healthy recipe, though. I left out the butter and it was nearly fat-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Excellent - I added a microwaves cooked, chopped up rasher of bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taumarunui, Waikato, New Zealand
Living In: Te Puke, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this recipe as listed and added a few more spices such as rosemary and thyme, as suggested. I used fresh pumpkin. It smelled so delicious!!! I think the wonderful aroma contributed to my level of disappointment when I tasted it. It tasted like utterly bland potato soup. Maybe my taste buds weren't working that day???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I was very happy with the way this soup came out. It was a bit bland, but I won't hold that against it, as it was easily fixed by being a bit more liberal with the spices and adding some honey. I loved the result and will definitely make a batch of this at Thanksgiving this year. I made this with just what I had on hand, so I wound up leaving out the potatoes and using slightly less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
As mentioned, this was an excellent based soup and was not based on creme. That being said, once it was put through the blender, it was bland. This was very easily fixed with a LOT of spices. When I first saw a dash, I almost laughed. I ended up putting in about 3 tablespoons of nutmeg, 1 tablespoon of ginger, and 4 tablespoons of cinnamon. I also used a sweet potato as suggested. Finally, to give a little nuttier flavor. I added about 1/4 cup of hazelnut fat free cream. This definitely kicked it up. All told it was a lot of fun to work with a girlfriend and figure out what to add to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States