Slimmed-Down Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I doubled the recipe and brought this to an outdoor BarBQ. It disappeared quickly and no one seemed to even notice that there was no mayonnaise. The only thing I did differently with the recipe was that I used both all purpose white potatoes along with the red ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I cut the tofu amount in half and added a cup of plain yogurt instead. I also used jalapeno mustard, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This salad is flawless. I don't like mayonaise potatoe salad, but this one is light and delicious. I can't taste the tofu! It literally tastes like I used cream instead of tofu. Very good. Will make regularly from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I was VERY skeptical about this recipe but my husband loves potato salad and we don't eat mayo anymore, due to health reasons. Tried it and we were pleasantly surprised. A little bland at first so we added a few TBL of sweet relish and that did the trick for us. Great alternative when mayo is out of the question.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was great - certainly couldn't tell it was tofu! My only complaint would be that it tasted too strongly of mustard. However, my husband did not think it was too 'mustardy'; he said it was exactly how a potato salad should taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My husband doesn't like mayonnaise but I love potato salad. This recipe worked great for both of us! I added some cilantro because I had it, but it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
too much celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I am on WWs, so this appealed to me. I calulated it as 6 PP value per serving, which is pretty good. As with most recipes, I altered it a bit.. No green peppers,tripleded up on the mustard and added maybe a 1/2 cup of pickle juice. This is I think, the first time I have ever used tofu in a recipe, never mind silken tofu. Of course, I have eaten tofu in various dishes at Chinese/Japanese/Thai restaurants. This was, while light tasting, a great substitute for a mayo based salad. I say give it a try and alter to suit your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
This is very good, and no one asked what the dressing was made of, so I didn't tell! My family is so weird that I knew if they knew what the ingredient was, they suddenly wouldn't like the potato salad. I mixed the dressing up the night before using it. The salad is good and I liked all that was in it, but it was a tad dry. I didn't add the pickles, as we are not a fan of them in our salads, so that may have accounted for a little of the dryness. I did add the milk in right before serving. My co-workers love playing 'guess the ingredient' in foods that I make, and this will be a good recipe for them to try. Update: I'm leaving my review at 4-stars for the day the salad is made. It would only be a 3-star when serving the leftovers. It is a little watery, and has a slight after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States