Sliced Tomatoes with Fresh Herb Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made as written (except did not chill to marinate) and love the combination of these flavors but next time will add a bit of red wine vinegar and use roasted garlic simply because I love their flavors :-) For those who are raw garlic shy/think it is too overpowering I plead with you to try roasted garlic with this recipe - YUM! Also, regarding chilling the tomatoes, please know you can safely marinate them, covered, at room temperature for up to four hours and then chill any leftovers for use in a salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Lovely refreshing summer salad, especially if you have the herbs already growing in your garden. I did water the dressing down a bit and added some lemon juice to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
We thought it was ok ... I used half the garlic and that was still pretty strong! Could use a little balsamic vinegar ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Sliced homegrown tomatoes are good enough to stand on their own, but this recipe enhances their flavor nicely and creates a much prettier presentation, as well. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Momazirlott!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
added cucumbers soo Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Very good. I liked adding some red wine vinegar an I enjoyed it without the parmesan although I am sure it is good with it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Loved the herb/oil mixture over the tomatoes but eliminated the garlic. The chives give it a good "oniony" flavor. All the garlic would have overpowered the dish and for some, like me, raw minced garlic repeats. The herb/oil mixture also would make a nice side dish for homemade or market fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Fabulous!! I cut the recipe in half, and found that it needed an extra Tbl. of olive oil, + 1/4 tsp. salt + 1/8 tsp. pepper. My store was out of fresh oregano, so I used 1/2 tsp. dried. The garlic sounded like a ton, so I reduced it to 1 tsp. (for a halved recipe). So glad I reduced it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is a great way to enjoy tomatoes, and an easy side dish. It can be made with dried herbs as well (use 2 teaspoons each instead of 2 tablespoons) if you're short on fresh herbs. Sometimes I like to add red wine vinegar to taste to change it up a bit. Love it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Delicious. Now that my garden is producing tomatoes at full steam, this is my favorite way to serve and enjoy summer's bounty. There is absolutely nothing else like a freshly picked sun-ripened tomato sliced and simply dressed with fresh herbs, garlic and cheese (!). Finishing with a few drops of red wine vinegar is an option as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Learn how to whip up a fresh-herb salad dressing in just two minutes.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States