Skyline Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
NOTE!!!! People need to realize that this is Cincinnati-style chili to be served over spaghetti with finely shredded cheddar cheese and optional kidney beans and/or chopped onions - NOT the thick, chunky Texas style. As a former Cincinnatian living in the Skyline-less central prairie, this is the closest I've found to Skyline's recipe. Pretty dang good. A very quick buzz through the blender will make the cooked chili more like the texture found at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
I have Been loking for this recipe for about 4 yrs., Since I was in Ohio. Loved IT!! Made one chage, I added 2 squares of semi-sweet bakers chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andes, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
This chili was sooo yummy. I ate way too much, and my very picky two year old loved it as well. This is definitely a permanent addition to my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gotaas Carter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
I've made this twice and it tastes just like the original. Great over spagetti with melted cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
I don't know how you did it, but this tastes just like the real thing!! It was great! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This chilli was absolutely one of my favorites! Easy to prepare. Different flavor than most chilli. Cinnamon is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUZZKILL68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
really does taste just like skyline! very good over spaghetti with cheese, sourcream and tabasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEESHL
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Kids refused to eat it, but then, if it doesn't taste like ketchup and sugar, my kids won't eat it. My husband said the flavor was an exact match for Skyline Chili. He was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This recipe was just like the real thing, however I thought there was too much grease at the top of the crock pot when it was finished cooking. I had to spoon out about a half bowl of grease/water. Also, is there a quicker way to make this? 12 hours in a crock pot was just a bit too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This is so close to the originalit made my husband home sick. I agree that to get the same texture run it through the blender real quick. I'll be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKELFISH27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States