Skyline Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Definately add the chocolate. I also cut the amount of cinnamon in half. No need to put in blender. The authentic way to make Cincinnati chili is to get the leanest ground meat possible and simmer it till brown (trust me!) in the water stirring occasionally. This will break down the meat into the fine texture desired. After the meat is browned add the rest of the ingredients. I leave out the steak sauce and add a pinch of powdered clove. If it's not thick enough just boil it down more or do as we do in Cincinnati and add oyster crackers to soak it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Very good and very easy to make. This recipe is supposed to be runny because it's supposed to eaten like Cincinatti chili--with spaghetti noodles on the bottom and topped with cheddar cheese. It doesn't taste exactly like Skyline, but it's as close as you're probably going to get. To get a true Skyline meat sauce, after the meat is done cooking, mix it with some water and put it all in a blender on the low setting. This will chop the meat into very small pieces. Then drain it using a wire strainer and put the meat into the crock pot like usual. This will make the chili very consistent all the way through and will keep there from being big chunks of meat in it, just like the real Skyline chili makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Husband is from Cinci, we don't have Skyline here and everytime we go back to visit it is the first thing he eats. He couldn't believe we duplicated this recipe. I did put the meat in the blender as suggested. We like to eat cheese coneys- Hot dog with mustard, chili and LOTS of shredded cheese. This will become a new favorite at our house- 500 miles from the nearest Skyline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This recipe was amazing- I practically licked my bowl! The chili tasted exactly like Skyline chili. :) I read the reviews and decided to make a few alterations. First, the texture of the meat is crucial in making this taste authentic. I browned the meat and ran it through a food processor for about a minute. I honestly feel that the finely ground meat made a huge difference in the flavor. I also used half the amount of cinnamon and added 3 squares of bittersweet chocolate. Because I didn't have 12 hours, I mixed all of the ingredients in a large skillet and let it simmer on the stove for 3 hours. I feel that that was plenty of time, and it tasted great. I served the chili over spaghetti with diced onions and finely shredded cheddar cheese. My husband and I both agree that this is a keeper! P.S. For those who don't have onion salt on hand, 1 part onion powder and 3 parts salt can be substituted. A woman at a local spice shop told me this, and I figure she knows what she is talking about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
NOTE!!!! People need to realize that this is Cincinnati-style chili to be served over spaghetti with finely shredded cheddar cheese and optional kidney beans and/or chopped onions - NOT the thick, chunky Texas style. As a former Cincinnatian living in the Skyline-less central prairie, this is the closest I've found to Skyline's recipe. Pretty dang good. A very quick buzz through the blender will make the cooked chili more like the texture found at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
I have Been loking for this recipe for about 4 yrs., Since I was in Ohio. Loved IT!! Made one chage, I added 2 squares of semi-sweet bakers chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andes, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Having lived most of my life in the Cincinnati area, I am very familiar with the flavor and texture of Skyline Chili. This is close, but there is too much cinnamon in this recipe. And the texture is just completely wrong. If you put your browned ground beef into a food processor and process it until it is nearly a powder consistency, you’re getting closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I ended up making a lot of revisions to thie recipe, but only because I had forgotten to get a bunch of things at the grocery store. I replaced onion salt with a half of a chopped onion, the garlic powder with chopped garlic, and no steak sauce or vinegar. Per traditional skyline chili, add two squares bittersweet chocolate, and serve it over spaghetti noodles with cheddar cheese. Good eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Delish! I added cayanne, and the CHOCOLATE. Don't be scared, it gives it so much depth. Try adding less than .5 oz for every lb of beef you use. I also figured this was chili, so I initially used exact measurements, but found I needed to add some more of the same seasonings listed to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
After over a year of using this recipe, I'm finally getting around to rating it! I am giving this a 5* because my husband from Cincy says the recipe is nearly identical. The key to duplicating the texture of Skyline Chili is to blend the cooked ground beef......it is essential! Go Purdue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States