Skyline Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made the chili on the stove top instead of the crockpot. I would definately leave out the cinnamon. My husband would not eat it and said to just use canned chili next time. If not for him I would make it again but without the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
When my husband & I were dating in college, going to Skyline was a frequent date for us. Moving out of state was upsetting since we were no longer close to a Skyline. Short of buying the premade in the store, I think this is as close as you can get to the real thing. When making this I discovered I didn't have any allspice, but made it anyway. I think it may have been missing a little something due to that, but it was still a great meal. FYI- Skyline chili also makes an excellent topper for a baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I'm pregnant and someone mentioned Skyline Chili on a pregnancy website...and that set off the craving for it. I've only had the actual chili from the restaurant one time - I live several states away so a trip to Ohio just to satisfy a craving was out of the question. I found this recipe and decided to make it. I did it on the stove since I was pressed for time. Now I have no idea how I'll be able to wait until my husband comes home from work because it is SOOOOOO good!!!! I'm dipping into the pot every time I pass it. I can't wait for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Very good and very easy to make. This recipe is supposed to be runny because it's supposed to eaten like Cincinatti chili--with spaghetti noodles on the bottom and topped with cheddar cheese. It doesn't taste exactly like Skyline, but it's as close as you're probably going to get. To get a true Skyline meat sauce, after the meat is done cooking, mix it with some water and put it all in a blender on the low setting. This will chop the meat into very small pieces. Then drain it using a wire strainer and put the meat into the crock pot like usual. This will make the chili very consistent all the way through and will keep there from being big chunks of meat in it, just like the real Skyline chili makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This was okay. We didn't hate it. But I won't make it again. Btw, I took some of the reviewers suggestions and decreased the water to 2 cups and it was still pretty runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I liked this simple recipe. I was free to add more or less of what I liked and it still turned out well. I would recommend this recipe as a good starting point for chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
hubby loved it (though he added some tobasco sauce). Easy and tasty. Everyone is right though it is watery. I'd not add the water at all next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I live in cincy and this didnt really taste like skyline. I think I need to use fattier meat or something. The restaurant is much better and easier. If you want real skyline and you dont live here check out their website and order the canned chili from anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Don't compare this exotic spicy sauce to a thick bowl of Texas Red. Top your spaghetti with this, chopped onion, shredded cheddar, and some drained cooked pinto beans for a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This recipe is not for me! It is nothing like Skyline Chili!! For those who say it tastes just like it....well its not true. It is awful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States