Skyline Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Husband is from Cinci, we don't have Skyline here and everytime we go back to visit it is the first thing he eats. He couldn't believe we duplicated this recipe. I did put the meat in the blender as suggested. We like to eat cheese coneys- Hot dog with mustard, chili and LOTS of shredded cheese. This will become a new favorite at our house- 500 miles from the nearest Skyline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This chili was excellent!!!! Although, my family and I like beans in our chili so I added 2 small cans of red beans (not red beans in chili sauce) and it turned out great....I highly recommend it and plan on making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is good stuff! The second time I made it, I cut the cinnamon back to 1/2 teaspoon and it was much better. My opinion is that the original recipe calls for too much cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I am from Cincinnati and eat at Skyline not less than once or twice a week. This recipe looks right except Skyline has chocolate in it. I will make and review. Try this mixed with blended chili beans in a burrito like at the restaurant. Check out the Skyline website for other ideas. The more you try it, the more you start to crave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This is extremely close to what I remember when I was living in Cincinnati. Well done! I did not brown the meat, as per many review's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
The best Chili I've ever had.That is what I said and 20 other guy's I work with. Great Recipe Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This was excellent! Although my husband and I have never been to Cincinatti - from what we have seen on TV it seemed authentic. it was Def DELICIOUS served over Pasta with Shredded cheese (like a 3-way). I did what 1 reviewer did and put the meet in my Vita-mixer (my super blender) and it was really yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I made this on the stove-top instead of in a crockpot. It was AMAZING!!! The only thing I did differently was to add a bit less water ~ I just poured it in until I got the consistency I was looking for. I wouldn't dream of leaving out the allspice or the cinnamon: they make this dish. All the boys gave it 5 stars too! Thanks for the great recipe Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made the chili on the stove top instead of the crockpot. I would definately leave out the cinnamon. My husband would not eat it and said to just use canned chili next time. If not for him I would make it again but without the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
When my husband & I were dating in college, going to Skyline was a frequent date for us. Moving out of state was upsetting since we were no longer close to a Skyline. Short of buying the premade in the store, I think this is as close as you can get to the real thing. When making this I discovered I didn't have any allspice, but made it anyway. I think it may have been missing a little something due to that, but it was still a great meal. FYI- Skyline chili also makes an excellent topper for a baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States