Skyline Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Family looovvveess this chili!! I do use less water then called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsfalgoutcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Yum! I used to be a flight attendant based out of CVG and ate many bowls of Cincinnati Chili while waiting for flights. I decided to try to find a recipe and duplicate the taste. I think this one is pretty close. I did grind the meat in my food processor a bit after lightly browning and draining fat. I was afraid of so much cinnamon but it was great! At first I didn't add the chocolate as one reviewer suggested but after tasting the finished product added it at the end. I always thought I tasted a very slight chocolate (mole) flavor in the original at the airport. The best thing was how the house smelled after we returned from work. My kids loved it served over spaghetti topped with cheese, beans and onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Tasty chili but will not become my standby recipe. Solid Cincinnati chili flavor, but don't make it if you don't like cinnamon. It is the first thing that hits your mouth when you take a bite. I added kidney beans to bulk it up, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
The cinnamon was overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I omitted the cinnamon. I also added chopped green pepper and onion along with 2 cans of dark red kidney beans. The chili is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This is an easy shortcut variation on Skyline chili, and great that is works on the crockpot leaving your time freed up for other things, but Skyline Chili II is far superior and I won't bother making this version again as I liked the other so much better. Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Having lived most of my life in the Cincinnati area, I am very familiar with the flavor and texture of Skyline Chili. This is close, but there is too much cinnamon in this recipe. And the texture is just completely wrong. If you put your browned ground beef into a food processor and process it until it is nearly a powder consistency, you’re getting closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Tasted great! We made it Five-Way with kidney beans, onions, cheese and spaghetti. Our guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRE1964

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I ended up making a lot of revisions to thie recipe, but only because I had forgotten to get a bunch of things at the grocery store. I replaced onion salt with a half of a chopped onion, the garlic powder with chopped garlic, and no steak sauce or vinegar. Per traditional skyline chili, add two squares bittersweet chocolate, and serve it over spaghetti noodles with cheddar cheese. Good eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was soo delicious! Made this for a BBQ, and put it on top of hotdogs. Everybody was raving about how good it was! We didn't even put any water in it. We really didn't think it needed any. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States