Skyline Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
wow! my hubby always told me, "there are NO beans in real chili". we live in michigan, and this chili is like the chili they use in the authentic coney restaurants. iam so impressed with this. only difference is i also used about a pound of chorizo sausage with the ground beef and it turned out wonderful. thank you very much for a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was the best chili I have ever eaten! I did modify slighty by adding onions and salsa. Fantastic! It was very simple to make. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Just like the real thing! Definitely let it simmer as long as possible. Much better the second day. PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Streeter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Delish! I added cayanne, and the CHOCOLATE. Don't be scared, it gives it so much depth. Try adding less than .5 oz for every lb of beef you use. I also figured this was chili, so I initially used exact measurements, but found I needed to add some more of the same seasonings listed to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This recipe instantly became one of my all-time favorite comfort foods. I've made it stove-top when we just can't wait for the slowcooker. It is one of the most requested dishes in my family. Definitely serve it over angel hair pasta. Pile it high with shredded cheese. Diced onions are a must for me; red beans if I've got them. Wow! A few tabasco peppers,a splash of pepper juice, and I am in heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Ok, so I was in a hurry and completely skipped the slow cooker part and just simmered this on the stove for about an hour to and hour and a half. REALLY GOOD! I can't imagine that it could be much better after slow cooking all day but maybe next time I'll try that - or not! The only thing I changed was the addition of much more red pepper to make it a bit zippier. Cooked some angel hair and topped with shredded cheese. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Heironimus Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Love the crock pot aspect! Added half a can of refried beans (for taste of beans without the texture). Substituted chopped canned tomatoes for tomato sauce. Reduced meat to 1 lb of ground beef PLUS 1/2 lb spicy ground sausage --- which gave it a little kick even though overall meat was reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I've never had Cincinatti chili before, but I plan on having it a lot in the future. I used other suggestions and blendered the meat, added 1 square of bittersweet chocolate, and cut the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon. This is just a nice twist on ordinary chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I made this for my husband who LOVES Skyline and misses it immensely since moving away from OH. He said it didn't taste like Skyline. I on the other hand liked it, but I never ate Skyline while we lived it OH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
After over a year of using this recipe, I'm finally getting around to rating it! I am giving this a 5* because my husband from Cincy says the recipe is nearly identical. The key to duplicating the texture of Skyline Chili is to blend the cooked ground beef......it is essential! Go Purdue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States