Skyline Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I don't know if this is close to the real Skyline Chili or not, but it is really good stuff! I had made mac and cheese for my 3 yr old, so I served it over that instead of spaghetti. And my husband used it to make chili dogs with sauteed onion. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by mahadi087
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Good one! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahadi087
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this for a group of people and some were from Ohio and have had skiline chili before .It was awesome I added 2oz unsweetened baking chocolate and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I used this as a base for my chili, and it was great with my modifications! I would give this a 5, but I made too many alterations. I covered my beef in water in the skillet and cooked it until browned and the water had evaporated. I then drained it and added the other ingredients. I just used a whole can of tomato sauce and adjusted the water at the end to suit my tastes. I did halve the cinnamon, left out the allspice, steak sauce (i didn't have any) and salt (check your chili powder ingred list). AFter doing some reading, instead of adding chocolate like some suggested, I used about 1/2 tsp of cocoa powder. It doesn't flavor this chili, it just gives it more depth like the cinnamon. This was by far the best chili I've ever made...taste and texture. Will keep in my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I added the chocolate. This must feed six very hungry people, because I doubled the recipe and could have fed at least 20 people. Eight cups of water is probably too much. Using the immersion blender was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Our whole family LOVES this recipe. I do tweak it a little at times. I always add chocolate, sometimes use half ground beef & half ground chicken to lighten it up a little, and after I brown the meat I put it in the food processor for a few pulses to get a consistent and fine texture. We serve ours over spaghetti with onions and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is it!! I did also add cocoa as per others comments. A definite mainstay now that I have moved away from Cinti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this for the first time ever making chili. I just left the lid off of the crockpot for the last two hours and it was hotter. I was told that it was 4 alarm chili when I added two tbsp. of hot chili powder and 3 tbsp. of regular chili powder. Hubby didn't like the cinnamon, so I took it out. That's all I changed. Thanks for a great no-bean chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sn315on

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
To get the Skyline consistency, you need to boil your hamburger until its no longer pink, then put it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This chili was okay but I thought there was too much cinnamon in it. When we ate it with the spaghetti noodles, onions and cheese, it kind of cut down on the cinnamon taste, but I still think there was too much in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States