Skyline Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I have never had skyline chili, so I can't vouch for authenticity, but I thought this was very tasty. I used a 90% lean ground sirloin for the meat, because it was on sale. I didn't bother with blending it or anything, I thought the texture was fine as is, I just broke it up into small pieces while browning. Somewhat similar to the meat sauce on the chili mac at steak n shake, but without the flavor of the red sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I have used this recipe for years. It is quick and easy to put together. I do substitute real onions for the onion salt. I tend to like that flavor better. Then, at the end when it is done, I put shredded cheddar cheese and cut up fresh onions on top of it and the spaghetti. Also, when made following the directions, it tends to be more watery than I like, so I have reduced the water or added a thickening agent depending upon when I remembered. Skyline is supposed to be runny, this is just a personal taste issue. Great for kids and getting them to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is THE Skyline Chili! I usually double the recipe and freeze some. But I do NOT double the chili powder. And I always add a little extra cinnamon - and add a couple of tablespoons of sugar. This is a sweet chili, but all that chili powder makes it too much like regular chili. The secret is in constantly stirring the beef while it is browning so it turns out very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Everyone in my office raved about how this smelled when I made it. Tastes better the next day after all the spices have a chance to really mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made 3 tweaks to the recipe as written. Halved the cinnamon, added 1oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and added 1 tsp of red pepper flakes. Turned out great. The 12 hours in the crockpot is a must to blend and even out the flavors. Made perfect chili dogs, and will next use this mix for chili cheese dip on a Sunday game day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davejschultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. All you can taste is the cinnamon and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I grew up in Cincy and this is acceptably close! Defiantly blend the meat and add cocoa. Don't forget lots of diced raw onions and shredded cheddar on finished product and oyster crackers! Enjoy this unique dish! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I lived in Cincinnati for a summer. During my time there I developed a craving for Skyline and Graeter's ice cream. Since moving back to Michigan, I still crave the Skyline. This recipe hits the spot. It IS what I remember. It may not be exact, but it captures the uniqueness of Skyline. Based on other reviews ,I made the following changes: -added 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate (too much next time I'll go with 1 oz.) -I used Worcestershire sauce instead of steak sauce -I added water while browning the beef to break it apart and achieve the Skyline consistency. -From Skyline recipe 2 I added bayleaf and garlic cloves. -cut the cinnamon in half. It should be noted that official canned Skyline lists paprika as one of the ingredients. Lastly, people should understand that this chili recipe is not your standard american chili. It is more of a sauce to be used over other things. Serve it over noodles or a hot dog with a ton of cheese (cheddar I think) and oyster crackers as a side. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made a mix between Skyline Chili 1 & 2. It was delicious! I wanted it more spicy like #2 and more saucy like #1. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Was okay, but I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States