Sky High Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I come from Yorkshire and you cannot make the perfect Yorkshire Pud without salt. Everything else is correct (altho goose fat is the best oil to use). Alos top Chefs recommend equal quantities of eggs, flour and milk (semi skimmed is supposed to be the best). The reason for the equal quantities is the fact that eggs can vary by as much as 20 gms per egg. Hope these tips help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Work perfectly. These are a family tradition in our household. Our trick, is make the batter at least 1 hour before you are going to cook them, and let them get to room temp before pouring them into the prepared hot pan. Oh ya, also, use Homo Milk, works much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I have tried several yorkie recipes here and this is by far the best yet. These turned out 4" high! Tasted great, light and fluffy. My only suggestion is to always best to use your eggs and milk at room temperature. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
As my first time makeing Yorkshire Pudding I didnt know what to expect.This was so easy and so good.I did add a little salt though. As someone else suggested I put a cookie sheet under the muffin tin and I'm glad I did.The batter tends to push the oil out. I will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
coming from the uk and living in the states I have had problems getting recipes to work. ***** 5 STARS to this recipe. Totally sky high yorkies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I AM A SUPER FAN OF THIS PUDDING. I HAVE BEEN USING THE CLUB HOUSE PACKAGES FOR YEARS FEARING THAT IF I MAKE MY OWN FROM SCRATCH, IT WOULD RUIN MY MEAL. I LOVE YORKSHIRE PUDDING, AND IS THE MAIN PART OF MY ROAST BEEF DINNER. ANYWAYS, I TRIED THIS RECEPIE AND LIKED IT BETTER THAN WHAT I HAVE BEEN USING AND IT TURNED OUT GREAT. THE ONLY THING, I TOOK THEM OUT ABOUT 5 MINUTES BEFORE BECAUSE THE OUTSIDE WAS GETTING PRETTY BROWN AND I DID NOT WANT A HARD CRUST. EXCELLENT RECIPE, WILL MAKE AGAIN AND SCRATCH MY OTHER METHOD - THANKS MIRANDA KLEIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Excellent and very easy to make. I followed some advice from other reviewers and let my eggs and milk go to room temperature. These were perfect and melt-in-your mouth. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mingry77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I have been looking for 4 years for a good yorkshire recipe - mine always are doughy. Not with this recipe, however! Great job, it's going to be a staple in my house! PS - Didn't have any veg oil, so used butter instead. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
These were very dense and bland, I threw them out. I think I will take advice of other reviewers and let milk mixture get to room temp first and add some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Coming from England, I have been brought up on Yorkshire pudding and no roast beef dinner could ever be complete with out them. I have used the same recipe for many years, but read all the reviews so decided to give this one a try. These were just as good, as long as you add a pinch of salt (I know we are all trying to cut down on of salt intake, but Yorkshire puddings are not the same without it). The other points I wanted to mention is to make sure your ingredients are at room temperature before you begin and when mixing, make as fluffy as you can, the more air you get into the mixture the better. My Grandma always told me to let the batter sit for a good 20 minutes before putting into the pans. This has always worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States